

Educational & Research Technologies Committee Minutes 427a Waterman January 13, 2020

Present: Nick Bouffard (SGA), Thomas Chittenden (Faculty Senate President), Hung Do (BSAD), Deb Ellis (CAS), Lutz Kaelber (CAS), Helen Read (CEMS), Lyman Ross (LIB), Regina Toolin (CESS), Scott Vanson (GSS), Marie Wood (LCOM)

Absent: Luben Dimov (RSENR), Elise Hotaling (LCOM), Jane Petrilla (CALS), Tim Tourville (CNHS)

Guests: Simeon Ananou, Mike Austin, Bryn Geffert, J. Dickinson, Alex Messinger, Julia Russell.

Co-Chair Helen Read called the meeting to order at 9:00 am in Waterman 427a.

1. Minutes. The minutes of Novemember 2019 will be voted on at the February meeting.

2. Libraries Update, Bryn Geffert. See attached presentation.

3. CIO Update, Simeon Ananou.

- **ETS.** Classroom technology services is now part of ETS.
- It Governance. There are individuals that serve as gate keepers at all units. We need to have ears and eyes on the ground in each unit. There will be an ask for units to pick a person to represent each unit in the process. More information will be provided as they move forward.
- Windows 7 and Server 2008. Will no longer be supported by Microsoft. Machines should not be running on these unsupported platforms as they present a risk to the University.

4. Representative to New IT Committee.

Seeking a representative from ERTC to join a working group to help further enrich the experience and the success of UVM students from a technology perspective. The working group would help collect data along with ideas from UVM students to: (1) benchmark our technological environment against other institutions' and (2) glean enough information to influence future technology investments.

Julia Russell, Associate CIO and Ian Davis, Information Technology Professional in CEMS will co-chair the stakeholder-working group to administer the Educause ETRAC Survey at UVM in early 2020 (<u>https://www.educause.edu/ecar/technology-research-academic-community/etrac-portal</u>). Simeon anticipate very little time commitment on the part of working group members who are expected to help promote the survey on campus to encourage overall student participation.

Deb Ellis will work on this committee. Julia Russell will coordinate this effort.

- 5. Old Business. There was no old business at this time.
- 6. New Business. There was no new business at this time.

The meeting adjourned at 10:00 am.