



TO: Faculty and Staff of the University of Vermont

FROM: David V. Rosowsky, Provost and Senior Vice President

DATE: January 22, 2018

SUBJECT: Incentive-based Budget Model: Steering Committee Membership

In my November 2017 IBB Campus Update <u>memo</u>, I described the process for reconstituting the IBB Steering Committee in preparation for the development of IBB Model 2.0. We received more than 40 nominations, all of which came with high recommendation. I extend my sincere thanks to the faculty and staff members who indicated a willingness to serve.

In assembling the committee, our goal was to ensure broad and diverse membership, bringing diverse perspectives as well as insights into a variety of key areas of the University. President Sullivan has approved the revised Steering Committee membership and he shares my confidence in the group we've assembled. Committee members will approach their work openly, as University citizens, not as individual unit representatives. Steering Committee members will also serve as vital communication links across campus.

## **IBB Steering Committee Membership**

David Rosowsky, Provost and Senior Vice President, Committee Chair

*Lisa Aultman-Hall*, Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (returning prior/new member)

Andrew Barnaby, Chair, Faculty Senate Financial and Physical Planning Committee; Professor, Department of English (new member)

Brian Beckage, Professor, Department of Plant Biology (new member)

Shari Bergquist, Assistant Dean for Business Operations, College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Breck Bowden, Patrick Professor of Watershed Science and Planning; Director, Water Resources and Lake Studies Center, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources

Johanna Brabham, Manager, Residential Life and Davis Center Custodial Services Department

Sara Cahan, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Biology (new member)

Richard Cate. Vice President for Finance and Treasurer

*Brian Cote*, Senior Associate Dean for Finance and Administration, Larner College of Medicine (new member)

Michelle DiPinto, President, Graduate Student Senate

Cynthia Forehand, Dean, Graduate College (new member)

*Rex Forehand*, Heinz and Rowena Ansbacher Endowed University Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychological Science

Ryan Hargraves, Director, Office of Admissions (new member)

Jane Kolodinsky, Professor and Chair, Department of Community Development and Applied Economics

Jamie LaPierre, Treasurer, Student Government Association

William Mierse, Richard and Pamela Ader Green and Gold Professor, Department of Art and Art History

Polly Parsons, E.L. Amidon Professor of Medicine and Chair, Department of Medicine

Sonya Stern, Director, Sponsored Project Administration (new member)

Beth Taylor-Nolan, Associate Dean for Student Services, Division of Continuing Education

Scott Thomas, Dean, College of Education and Social Services (new member)

Richard Vanden Bergh, Professor, Grossman School of Business

Jim Vigoreaux, Breazzano Endowed Professor, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

## IBB Website, Communications, and Model 2.0 Timeline

We remain committed to transparency and open communication. The IBB <u>website</u> is an archive of detailed information on the development of Model 1.0, and will continue to provide current information about the model, its timeline, communications to campus, presentations, reports, and informational resources. It also provides mechanisms for members of the campus community to provide feedback and respond to surveys or interim reports that are posted as our work progresses. Please bookmark this site and visit it often.

We also welcome opportunities to meet with smaller groups to provide information and answer questions. We will meet with anyone, anytime, anywhere to discuss IBB. If you'd like to set up an IBB meeting, contact University Budget Director Alberto Citarella at alberto.citarella@uvm.edu.

The <u>timeline</u> for the development of Model 2.0 is available on the website. The Steering Committee will deliberate over the spring and fall 2018 semesters, and in January 2019 will submit a report of Model 2.0 recommendations to President Sullivan for his review and approval. I will issue periodic updates to keep campus apprised of our progress.

Thank you.