Students walking on the campus of UVM safely distancing with face masks

The UVMStrong Fall 2020 Advisory Committee was formed in April 2020 in response to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and the need to plan for Fall 2020 operations. It is chaired by Gary Derr, Vice President for Operations and Public Safety.

The committee’s deliberations are guided by three principles:

  1. Protect the safety and wellbeing of all members of the UVM Community.
  2. Preserve the quality of the academic experience.
  3. Provide a high-quality student experience.

To inform its work, the committee draws upon the expertise of four planning groups with more than 50 representatives from across the university. These include members of the Faculty Senate Executive Council, staff and students.

UVMStrong Fall 2020 Advisory Members:

  • Gary Derr, Vice President for Operations and Public Safety, Chair
  • Simeon Ananou, Chief Information Officer, Team Lead - Business and Institutional Continuity
  • Nicci Brown, Chief Communications Officer
  • Claire Burlingham, University Controller, Team Lead - Business and Institutional Continuity
  • John Collins, Deputy General Counsel
  • Kirk Dombrowski, Vice President for Research, Team Lead - Research and Graduate Education
  • Bill Falls, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Team Lead - Faculty and Academic Affairs
  • Jes Kraus, Chief Human Resource Officer
  • Annie Stevens, Vice Provost for Student Affairs, Team Lead - Student Experience
  • Al Turgeon, Chief Risk and Public Safety Officer

UVMStrong Fall 2020 Working Groups:

Faculty and Academic Affairs

  • Bill Falls, Dean, College or Arts and Sciences, Chair
  • Katharine Shepherd, Associate Dean, College of Education and Social Services
  • Alec Adams, Assistant Dean, Grossman School of Business
  • Doug Dickey, Assistant Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
  • Jean Harvey, Associate Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  • Paula Deming, Chair, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
  • Beth Taylor Nolan, Associate Dean, Continuing and Distance Education
  • Christa Zehle, Associate Dean, College of Medicine
  • Peter Lally, Vice President, Student Government Association
  • Thomas Chittenden, President, Faculty Senate
  • Pablo Bose, Chair, Faculty Senate Diversity Curriculum Review Committee
  • Veronika Carter, University Registrar
  • Jennifer Dickinson, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
  • Jim Vigoreaux, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

Research and Graduate Education

  • Kirk Dombrowski, Vice President for Research, Chair
  • Brian Prindle, Executive Director for Research Administration, Office of Vice President for Research
  • Dan Harvey, Director of Operations, Office of Vice President for Research
  • Gordon Jensen, Senior Associate Dean for Research, Larner College of Medicine
  • Francis Churchill, Senior Associate Director Safety and Health
  • Cynthia Forehand, Dean, Graduate College
  • Linda Schadler, Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
  • Beth Kirkpatrick, Chair, Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, College of Agriculture & Life Sciences & Larner College of Medicine
  • Nate Sanders, Associate Dean, Rubenstein School of Environment & Natural Resources
  • Aayudh Das, Vice President, Graduate Student Senate
  • Mary Cushman, Chair, Faculty Senate Research, Scholarship and the Creative Arts Committee
  • Timothy Tourville, Faculty Senate Education, Research and Technology Committee

Business and Institutional Continuity

  • Claire Burlingham, University Controller, Co-Chair
  • Simeon Ananou, Chief Information Officer, Co-Chair
  • Vikki Gauvin, Senior Project Manager and Financial Analyst
  • Julia Russell, Associate Chief Information Officer
  • Gerald Coleman, Director of Custodial Services
  • Luce Hillman, Executive Director of Facilities Management
  • Steve Lunna, President, Staff Council
  • Sam Winship, Chief Business Officer, Athletics
  • Jane Knodell, Chair, Faculty Senate Financial & Physical Planning Committee
  • Chris Burns, Vice President, Faculty Senate
  • John Collins, Office of General Counsel

Student Experience

  • Annie Stevens, Vice Provost for Student Affairs, Chair
  • Daphne Wells, Director of Student Life
  • Raf Rodriquez, Executive Director Residential Life
  • John Paul Grogan, Center for Health and Wellbeing
  • Mandy Wooster, Deputy Chief of Police
  • Bev Colston, Director Mosaic Center
  • Marie Johnson, Director Student Financial Services
  • Cathy Rahill, Associate Athletic Director
  • Alex Messinger, Continuing and Distance Education
  • Jennifer Prue, Co-Chair, Faculty Senate Student Affairs Committee
  • Jay Garvey, Member-at-Large, Faculty Senate Executive Council
  • Ryan Hargraves, Director of Admissions
  • Terrence Delaney, Associate Professor, Plant Biology
  • Lana Al-Namee, SGA President
  • Avery Rasmussen, GSS President

In addition to drawing heavily on the expertise of our faculty in public health and medicine, the committee has worked closely with the Vermont Department of Health, Governor Phil Scott and the Vermont Legislature, and Burlington Mayor Miro Weinberger, to ensure compliance with state and local regulations, while also coordinating with higher education partners, especially those in the State of Vermont.

Committee Messages

Committee Reports