University of Vermont

James Marsh Professors-at-Large Program

Former Marsh Professors

Charles C. J. Carpenter, M.D.

Charles C. J. Carpenter, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, Brown University

David Christian
David Christian
Professor of History, San Diego State University
Founder and current President of Australasian Society for Inner Asian Studies
image of Professor William Darity Jr.
William A. Darity, Jr. Ph.D.
Cary C. Boshamer, Professor of Economics
Director of African-American Research, University of North Carolina
Research Professor of Public Policy Studies,
African and African American Studies and Economics, Duke University
Mickey Gunter
Mickey E. Gunter
Professor of Geological Sciences, University of Idaho
image of Sture Hansson
Sture Hansson
Professor of Ecology, Stockholm University
image of Dr. David Hemenway
Dr. David Hemenway Ph.D.
Visiting Professor

Professor of Health Policy, Harvard School of Public Health
Director of the Harvard Injury Control Research Center
Director of the Harvard Youth Violence Prevention Center
image of James Jeffords
James M. Jeffords
United States Senator
Clay S. Jenkinson, Ph.D.
Director of The Dakota Institute
Founder and Chief Consultant for
the Theodore Roosevelt Center and
Dickinson State University
Srinivas Krishnan
Srinivas Krishnan
Global Rhythms Ensemble
Master Percussionist
image of J. Lorand Matory
P. J. Lorand Matory
Lawrence Richardson Professor of Cultural Anthropology
Director of the Center for African and African American Research
Duke University
Sowah Mensah
P. Sowah Mensah
Director of the African Music Ensemble, Macalester College
Adjunct Faculty and Director of the African Music Ensemble
University of St. Thomas
image of Martha Minow
Martha Minow
Morgan and Helen Chu Dean and Professor of Law
Harvard Law School
Jennifer Monson
Jennifer Monson
Artistic Director, Choreographer and Performer
iLAND-interdisciplinary Laboratory for Art, Nature and Dance
Norman Myers
Dr. Norman Myers
Queen’s CMG honour for “services to the global environment”;
Volvo Environment Prize,
UNEP/Sasakawa Environment Prize,
Blue Planet Prize (only the second environmentalist worldwide to receive all three leading prizes).
Election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.
image of Howard Norman
Howard Norman
Professor of English
University of Maryland

image of David Orr
David W. Orr, Ph. D
Professor and Chair, Environmental Studies Program
Oberlin College
image of Stephen Polasky
Stephen Polasky
Fesler Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics
University of Minnesota
Ruth Purtilo
Ruth Purtilo
Professor and Director of Ethics Initiative
MGH Institute of Health Professions
Boston, MA
image of Nancy Scheper-Hughes
Nancy Scheper-Hughes, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology
University of California, Berkeley
image of John Senders
John Senders, Ph.D.
Member, Board of Directors
Institute for Safe Medications
Claudio Sillero
Claudio Sillero
Deputy Director of the Wildlife Conservation Research Unit,
University of Oxford
Head of Born Free Foundation an International NGO
John Tate
John Tate
Professor and Sid W. Richardson Chair in Mathematics,
The University of Texas
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Harvard University
image of Dr Alvaro Umana
Dr. Alvaro Umaña
Former Principal Adviser
and Leader of the Energy and Environment Group
Bureau of Developmental Policy
United Nations Development Programme
Stuart Vaughan
Founding Artistic Director of the New York Shakespeare Festival
3 Time Tony Award Winner,
Obie Award Winner
Dr. Wouter van Hoven
Emeriti Professor
Dept. of Animal and Wildlife Sciences
University of Pretoria
South Africa

Last modified February 26 2019 08:54 AM

Contact UVM © 2019 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131