Blackboard: Archive a Course

Instructors are responsible for backing up their courses.

There is no automatic archive process. Deleted data in a Bb course cannot be recovered.  All courses are deleted two years after they run.

Archiving backs up everything in your course and will produce a zip file that must be downloaded to complete the backup process. The zip file can then be imported into another Blackboard course space. Archiving your course is part of the end-of-semester checklist.

Backing Up a Course

  1. Go to Control Panel > Packages and Utilities > Export/Archive Course.
  2. Click Archive.
  3. Check the box next to Include Grade Center History.
  4. Click Submit.
  5. Wait for the archiving process to complete.  You will be sent an automated email when it is done. This usually only takes a few minutes, depending on the size of the course.
  6. After the confirmation email appears in your inbox, refresh and/or revisit the Export/Archive Course page to see the newly generated archive file.
  7. Download the archive file by clicking on the link to it.
Do not open the downloaded archive file.

Opening and re-zipping the file will corrupt it and prevent it from being imported. These files cannot be “browsed” like a normal zip file – you will need to import them to access backed up content.Opening and re-zipping the file will corrupt it and prevent it from being imported.

Accessing Downloaded Material

Archive data can’t be accessed offline. Thus it is recommended that the following additional steps be taken so that course information can be readily referred to at a later date:

Importing

To import the materials and tests from an old course into a new course, visit the Importing Course Content page.

Updated on November 29, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Not the solution you were looking for?
Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Submit a Help Ticket