The Honors College's plenary lecture series, an integral part of the first-year course, "The Pursuit of Knowledge," invites the campus community to consider along with the students questions similar to those being posed in the course. Lectures are by distinguished members of the UVM community as well as nationally recognized writers and artists from outside UVM.

Plenary Lectures are scheduled on select Wednesdays throughout the semester from 5:05-6:20 pm in Billings Lecture Hall. Members of the University community as well as the broader Burlington community are always welcome to attend.

 

Fall 2019 Schedule

Wed, August 28 – Introductory Plenary
Wed, Sept. 4 – Lisa Schnell – Dept of English
Wed, Sept 11 – Joseph Acquisto – Dept of Romance Languages & Linguistics
Wed, Sept 18 – Kate Nolfi – Dept of Philosophy
Wed, Sept. 25 – David Jenemann – Dean, Honors College
Wed, October 2 – No plenary
Wed, October 9 – Paul Van de Graaf, Vermont US Attorney’s office
Wed, October 16 – No plenary
Wed, October 23 – Alec Ewald, Dept of Political Science
Wed, October 30 – No plenary
Wed, November 6 – Ian Grimmer – Associate Dean, Honors College
Wed, November 13 – No plenary
Wed, November 20 – Faculty Panel on Frankenstein – Deborah Noel, Helga Schreckenberger, and Michael Ashooh
Nov. 25-29 Thanksgiving Recess
Wed, December 4 – No plenary