students writing on computers

The Diversity Curriculum Review Committee (DCRC) is a standing subcommittee of the Curricular Affairs Committee of the Faculty Senate


The DCRC is responsible for the six-credit diversity requirement.  The charge of the Diversity Curriculum Review Committee is to:

  •  develop, maintain and monitor the portfolio of academic courses and experiences in the Diversity Curriculum
  •  review and approve proposed diversity courses
  • solicit proposals for courses that qualify for the designation of "Diversity Course" under categories D1 or D2
  • maintain and implement a policy for review and approval of substitutions and alternatives to the diversity requirement on a case-by-case basis
  • develop and oversee a mechanism for assessing outcomes of the diversity requirement
  • maintain and implement a policy for periodic review of approved diversity courses, stipulating revisions as necessary
  • propose suggested changes to the Diversity requirement, as necessary, to the Faculty Senate
  • support and develop the faculty's capacity to offer diversity courses


pablo boseDCRC Chair

Pablo Bose:
Associate Professor of Geography and Director of Global and Regional Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
Term: 2017-2020

Membership on the DCRC includes:

  • one faculty member from each of the academic units potentially offering diversity courses (baccalaureate degree-granting colleges, schools, and the Honors College)
  • three non-voting ex officio members (VP for Diversity and Multicultural Affairs, the Associate Provost for Academic Affairrs, and the Chair of the Curricular Affairs Committee)
  • up to two members appointed by the Provost or his/her designee, chosen with a view to maintain a diverse, balanced and effective committee
  • membership will not exceed 13 members, including the ex officio members
  • Members serve up to two 3-year terms, but may return to service on the DCRC after a hiatus of two years

DCRC Members

  • Pablo Bose (Chair), College of Arts and Sciences, Term: 2017-2020
  • Maria Mercedes Avila, Larner College of Medicine, Term: 2019-2022
  • Holly Busier, Honors College, Term: 2019-2020
  • Yolanda Flores, College of Arts and Sciences, Term: 2019-2022
  • Charlotte Graf, Student Government Association, Term: 2019-2020
  • Nancy Gauvin, Chair Appointed Representative, Term: 2019-2020
  • Clare Ginger, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources, Term: 2018-2021
  • Laura Haines, Libraries, Term: 2020-2023
  • Glenn Patterson, College of Education and Social Services, Term: 2019-2022
  • Joanne Pencak, Grossman School of Business, Term: 2020-2023
  • Charlotte Reback, Larner College of Medicine, Term: 2019-2022
  • Travis Reynolds, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Term: 2019-2022
  • Paula Smith, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Term: 2020-2023
  • Priyantha Wijesinghe, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, Term: 2019-2022
  • TBD, Curricular Affairs Committee Representative, Term: 2020-2021

Ex-Officio, non-voting members

  • Laura Almstead, Curricular Affairs Committee Chair
  • Wanda Heading-Grant, Vice President for Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
  • Jennifer Dickinson, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Student Success


The DCRC meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month from 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. in Waterman 327 unless otherwise noted.

2020-2021 DCRC Meeting Schedule and Materials

September 17, 2020  
October 15, 2020  
November 19, 2020  
December 17, 2020  
January 21, 2021  
February 11, 2021  
March 18, 2021  
April 15, 2021  
May 13, 2021