University of Vermont

Center for Teaching and Learning

Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award is now being administered by the Provost's office. If you have any questions, please contact Brian Reed (


Announcing the 2018 Kroepsch-Maurice
Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients:

Nicholas James Gotelli, Professor, Biology
Lance Smith, Associate Professor, Leadership and Development Sciences
Lizzy Pope, Assistant Professor, Nutrition & Food Sciences
Patricia O'Kane, Lecturer, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources

About the Award

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize faculty for excellent instruction. They memorialize Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice. Robert H. Kroepsch served as Registrar and Dean of Administration at UVM from 1946-56. His wife, Ruth, graduated from UVM in 1938 and her father, Walter Maurice, graduated from UVM in 1909. All four of them were teachers.

Areas considered for selection include:

  • Excellence in instruction (including learning experiences outside the traditional classroom)
  • Capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge and understanding
  • Innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development
  • Demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity
  • Ability to motivate and challenge students
  • Evidence of excellent advising

Each recipient will receive $2,500.

Excellence in Teaching: A Discussion with the 2016 Kroepsch-Maurice Award Recipients

Selection Committee:
Joan Rosebush, Math and Engineering, Committee Chair
Patricia Mardeusz, Bailey/Howe Library
Diane Jaworski, Neurological Sciences
Stephen Dempsey, School of Business Administration
Brenda Solomon, Education and Social Services
Stuart Whitney, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Elizabeth Wright, Environmental Program

Back to top

Contact UVM © 2019 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131