Faculty in the Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Doctoral Programs

To learn more about our nationally recognized research and scholarship, please click on the name to visit their faculty profile.

Rebecca Callahan - Professor and Doctoral Programs Coordinator (Rebecca.Callahan@uvm.edu)

PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Educational policy; English Learner (EL) education; Immigrant students' civic development; STEM pathways; K-12 high school to college transitions

 

Tracy Arámbula Ballysingh - Assistant Professor (Tracy.Ballysingh@uvm.edu)

Tracy Arámbula Ballysingh headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HIGHER EDUCATION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION (HESA)
Areas of Expertise: Higher education; P-16 educational opportunity; Educational equity, access, and success; Low-income, 1st generation, and students of color experiences; School discipline disparities; College counseling

 

Kelly Clark Keefe - Associate Professor (Kelly.ClarkKeefe@uvm.edu)

Penny Bishop headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Feminist, critical and arts-based qualitative methodologies; Body studies in educational contexts; Epistemic injustice

 

Bernice Garnett - Associate Professor (Bernice.Garnett@uvm.edu)

Bernice Garnett headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Bullying prevention; Community and social systems; Diversity, access, and equity; Public health; Research methods; Restorative Justice; School climate; School health; School transformation; Social justice

 

Jason Garvey - Friedman-Hipps Green and Gold Professor of Education (Jason.Garvey@uvm.edu)

Jason Garvey headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HIGHER EDUCATION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION (HESA)
Areas of Expertise: Queer and trans collegians; Campus and classroom climate; Survey design and quantitative methods; Higher education and student affairs administration

 

Justin Garwood - Associate Professor (Justin.Garwood@uvm.edu)

 headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Classroom management; Emotional and Behavioral Disorders; Quantitative research methodology; Single-case design research; Teacher-student relationship quality

 

Shana Haines - Associate Professor (Shana.Haines@uvm.edu)

Shana Haines headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Family, school, and community collaboration; Inclusive practices in special education; Teacher preparation; Qualitative research

 

Juliet L. Halladay - Associate Professor (Juliet.Halladay@uvm.edu)

Juliet Halladay headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Assessment and Evaluation; Curriculum and Instruction; English Language Learners; Learning and cognition; Literacy and numeracy; Reading education and literacy; Response to intervention (RTI); Teacher education

 

Deborah Hunter - Associate Professor (Deborah.Hunter@uvm.edu)

Deborah Hunter, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HIGHER EDUCATION AND STUDENT AFFAIRS ADMINISTRATION (HESA)
Areas of Expertise: Educational policy; Higher education; Student affairs

 

Sean Hurley - Associate Professor (Sean.Hurley@uvm.edu)

Sean Hurley, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Adult learning; Assessment and evaluation; Early childhood; Educational policy; Learning and cognition; Psychology; Research methods

 

Kieran M. Killeen - Associate Professor/Associate Dean (Kieran.Killeen@uvm.edu)

Kieran M. Killeen
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Educational finance; Educational policy; Leadership; Research methods; Rural studies; Student mobility

 

Tammy Kolbe - Associate Professor (Tammy.Kolbe@uvm.edu)

Tammy Kolbe, Ed.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP AND POLICY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Assessment and evaluation; Educational finance; Educational policy; Higher education; Special education

 

Maureen Neumann - Professor (Maureen.Neumann@uvm.edu)

Maureen Neumann headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: ELEMENTARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Curriculum and Instruction; Gender studies; Leadership; Literacy and numeracy; Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM); Social Justice; Teacher education

 

Cynthia Reyes - Associate Professor (Cynthia.Reyes@uvm.edu)

Cynthia Reyes headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATIONS: MIDDLE LEVEL EDUCATION and EDUCATION FOR CULTRUAL & LINGUISTIC DIVERSITY
Areas of Expertise: Education for Cultural and Linguistc Diversity; English Learner (EL) Education Immigration and Schooling Literacy; Qualitative Research Methods Teacher Education and Research

 

Katharine Shepherd - Levitt Family Green and Gold Professor / Interim Dean (Katharine.Shepherd@uvm.edu)

Katharine Shepherd headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SPECIAL EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Collaboration and teaming; Families of children and adults with disabilities; Special education

 

Jessica Strolin-Goltzman - Professor (Jessica.Strolin@uvm.edu)

Jessica Strolin-Goltzman headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: Addictions/substance abuse; Child and family welfare; Trauma and resilience; Organizational development; Implementation research; Research methods; Social work practice

 

Regina Toolin - Associate Professor (Regina.Toolin@uvm.edu)

Regina Toolin headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: SECONDARY EDUCATION
Areas of Expertise: STEM Education; Education for Sustainability; Environmental education; Project-based learning; Place-based education; Computer science education; Teacher professional learning

 

Haley Woodside-Jiron - Associate Professor (Haley.Woodside-Jiron@uvm.edu)

Haley Woodside-Jiron headshot
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: READING & LANGUAGE
Areas of Expertise: Neuroscience of education, Resilience; Trauma-informed instruction