Our Chairperson

Jane E. Atieno Okech, Ph.D.
Professor, Chair

Jane OkechWelcome to the Department of Leadership and Developmental Sciences (DLDS). As you explore our academic programs, you will find an array of provocative courses of study leading to undergraduate and master’s degrees, each designed to provide a transformative experience and to prepare graduates committed to transfiguring our schools and society.

At the undergraduate level, we offer an interdisciplinary program in Human Development and Family Studies. Our master’s degree program in Counseling (School and Clinical Mental Health Counseling Programs) is accredited by The Council for Accreditation for Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP).

I invite you to also learn about our renowned faculty, their scholarship, professional service, and pedagogical practices.

Our Faculty

Nicole Conroy - Assistant Professor (nicole.conroy@uvm.edu)
Nicole Conroy, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HUMAN DEVELOPMENT AND FAMILY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Family studies; Gender studies; Human development and identity; Interpersonal violence; Social justice

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anne Geroski - Associate Professor (Anne.Geroski@uvm.edu)
Anne Geroski, Ed.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATON: COUNSELING - SCHOOL COUNSELING
Areas of Expertise: Counseling skills; Work with children and adolescents; Parenting intentions

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jennifer Jewiss - Research Assistant Professor (Jennifer.Jewiss@uvm.edu)
Jennifer Jewiss, Ed.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: DEPARTMENT OF LEADERSHIP AND DEVELOPMENTAL SCIENCES
Areas of Expertise: Assessment and Evaluation; Research Methods

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Aaron Kindsvatter - Associate Professor (Aaron.Kindsvatter@uvm.edu)
Aaron Kindsvatter, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: COUNSELING - MENTAL HEALTH
Areas of Expertise: Adult Learning; Mental Health

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jane Okech - Professor, Chair (Jane.Okech@uvm.edu)
Jane Okech, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: COUNSELING - MENTAL HEALTH
Areas of Expertise: Clinical supervision; Diversity, access, and equity; Ethics; Group co-Leadership; Group leadership; Group psychotherapy; Multiculturalism; Social justice

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lawrence Shelton - Associate Professor (Lawrence.Shelton@uvm.edu)
Lawrence Shelton, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HUMAN DEVELOPMENT AND FAMILY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Adolescent development; Family studies; Gender studies; Human development and identity; Restorative justice; Universal design

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lance Smith - Associate Professor (Lance.Smith@uvm.edu)
Lance Smith, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: COUNSELING - SCHOOL COUNSELING
Areas of Expertise: Clinical supervision; Diversity, access, and equity; Human development and identity; Multiculturalism; Race and racism; School counseling; Social justice

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sherwood Smith - Lecturer (Sherwood.Smith@uvm.edu)
Sherwood Smith
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HUMAN DEVELOPMENT AND FAMILY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise:Adult learning; Diversity, access, and equity; Human development and identity; International and Global studies; Multiculturalism; Race and racism; Social justice

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jacqueline Weinstock - Associate Professor (Jacqueline.Weinstock@uvm.edu)
Jacqueline Weinstock, Ph.D.
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: HUMAN DEVELOPMENT AND FAMILY STUDIES
Areas of Expertise: Adult development and aging; Sexual and gender identities; Friendships

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Julie Ann Welkowitz - Lecturer; Practicum and Internship Coordinator (Julie.Welkowitz@uvm.edu)
Julie Ann Welkowitz
PRIMARY AFFILIATION: COUNSELING - MENTAL HEALTH
Areas of Expertise: Narrative practices; Clinical & systems consultation; Model development within schools to support youth with emotional and behavioral challenges




Our Staff


Chris Caswell
ccaswell@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2030
Provides support for Human Development and Family Studies (HDFS), Higher Education & Student Affairs (HESA), and Interdisciplinary Studies

Crispina Pincus
Crispina Pincus
Crispina.Pincus@uvm.edu
(802) 656-3888
Assistant to the Chairperson; program support for Counseling and American Sign Language (ASL)

Roman Vogel
Roman Vogel
Roman.Vogel@uvm.edu
(802) 656-2936
Oversees and supports the administration of all CESS graduate programs.