English Department faculty and staff looking at camera for group photo


Sarah Alexander, dark hair and eyes, looking into camera Associate Professor

Sarah Alexander

Area of Expertise: Victorian literature and culture, the novel, Victorian poetry, nineteenth-century science, Dickens, Victorian London, nineteenth-century political economy

Sarah.Alexander@uvm.edu

 

Eve Alexandra, speaking into a microphone, hair up in a bun Senior Lecturer

Eve Alexandra

Area of Expertise: Creative Writing, Poetry, American Literature

Eve.Alexandra@uvm.edu

 

Andrew Barnaby looking into camera Professor

Andrew Barnaby

Area of Expertise: English Renaissance literature and cultural history; European Epic Tradition, the Bible, the History of Science, and literary theory

Andrew.Barnaby@uvm.edu

Philip Baruth, grey hair wearing glasses, looking off camera Professor

Philip Baruth

Area of Expertise: Restoration and 18th-Century Drama, Autobiography

Philip.Baruth@uvm.edu

 

Emily Bernard, short black hair wearing glasses, looking off camera Julian Lindsay Green and Gold Professor

Emily Bernard

Area of Expertise: African-American and 20th-Century American literature, Critical Theory, Race and Ethnicity in Literature, Women's Studies

Emily.Bernard@uvm.edu

Jean Bessette, looking into camera, blond hair up in a bun Associate Professor

Jean Bessette

Area of Expertise: Rhetorical theory; Composition pedagogy; Feminist rhetorics, historiographies, and pedagogies; Queer theory and studies; Digital rhetorics; Archival theory

Jean.Bessette@uvm.edu

 

Sheila Boland Chira, looking into camera, image in sepia tone Senior Lecturer and Director of the Writing Center

Sheila Boland Chira

Area of Expertise: American literary history, Race and Ethnicity in literature, American Autobiography, Composition

Sheila.BolandChira@uvm.edu

Greg Bottoms, with beard and glasses looking off camera, image is black and white Professor

Greg Bottoms

Area of Expertise: Creative Writing: Memoir, personal essay, documentary narrative/literary journalism, travel writing/writing place, personal art and cultural criticism, and short fiction

Greg.Bottoms@uvm.edu

 

Isaac Cates standing in front of a tree, wearing glasses, smiling at camera Lecturer

Isaac Cates

Areas of Expertise: Modern and contemporary poetry, nature poetry and nature writing, the interaction between science and poetry, and time in poetry; Modernism and the difficulty of the Modernist avant-garde; the graphic novel, comics as a literary medium, and autobiographical comics; poetic form, formal constraints, and oulipo / oubapo.

Isaac.Cates@uvm.edu

Stephen Cramer wearing baseball cap, looking down into camera Senior Lecturer

Stephen Cramer

Area of Expertise: 20th-Century and contemporary poetry, Creative writing

Stephen.Cramer@uvm.edu

 

Sue Dinitz wearing glasses, smiling into camera Senior Lecturer, Emeritus

Susan Dinitz

Areas of Expertise: Rhetoric and Composition and Writing Center

Susan.Dinitz@uvm.edu

Deb Elliz, next to film equipment, wearing glasses, smiling into camera Associate Professor and Director of the Film and Television Program

Deborah Ellis

Areas of Expertise: Film & Video Production, Documentary Film History and Production, Film Festivals

Deborah.Ellis@uvm.edu

 

Liz Fenton in front of Mt Rushmore, wearing glasses, smiling at cameraProfessor

Elizabeth Fenton

Areas of Expertise: Early American Literature

Elizabeth.Fenton@uvm.edu

 

Dan Fogel smiling at the camera Professor and Chair of the Department

Daniel Fogel

Areas of Expertise: 19th and 20th-Century American, English, and Irish literature; creative writing (poetry)

Daniel.Fogel@uvm.edu

John Gennari looking into the camera Professor

John Gennari

Areas of Expertise: U.S. Ethnic Studies, Jazz Studies, Food Studies, Popular Culture, Cultural Criticism

John.Gennari@uvm.edu

 

LeeLee Goodson standing facing camera wearing sunglasses, with three dogs Senior Lecturer

Hesterly Goodson

Areas of Expertise: Romanticism, American literature, Comparative Literature, Women's Studies, Composition

Hesterly.Goodson@uvm.edu

Jenny Grosvenor smiling at camera Senior Lecturer

Jenny Grosvenor

Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing, Composition & Rhetoric, Literature

Jenny.Grosvenor@uvm.edu

 

Huck Gutman sitting at table looking into camera, wearing glasses Professor, Emeritus

Huck Gutman

Areas of Expertise: 20th-Century American, 19th-Century U.S. Poetry, Modern Poetry

Huck.Gutman@uvm.edu

Susanmarie Harrington wearing glasses, smiling into camera Professor

Susanmarie Harrington

Areas of Expertise: Rhetoric and composition, Literacy

Susan.Harrington@uvm.edu

 

David Huddle looking down at notes, speaking at podium, wearing glasses Professor, Emeritus

David Huddle

Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing

David.Huddle@uvm.edu

Jinny Huh looking into camera, shoulder length dark hair Associate Professor and Director of the Critical Race and Ethnic Studies Program

Jinny Huh

Areas of Expertise: Asian American literature & culture, African American literature & culture Comparative race studies, Detective fiction, 20th-Century American literature, Cultural studies

Jinny.Huh@uvm.edu

 

Maira Hummel smiling up at camera Assistant Professor

Maria Hummel

Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing

Maria.Hummel@uvm.edu

Didi Jackson smiling at camera, image in black and white Lecturer

Didi Jackson

Areas of Expertise: Poetry, Creative Writing, Visual Arts

Didi.Jackson@uvm.edu

 

Major Jackson smiling at camera, wearing glasses Richard A. Dennis Professor of English, University Distinguished Professor

Major Jackson

Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing, Poetics, Contemporary Pop Culture

Major.Jackson@uvm.edu

David Jenemann looking off camera, salt and pepper cropped hair, blue button down, holing a baseball in his right hand and wearing a baseball glove on his left hand, a pile of more baseball gloves to his left. Professor and Dean of the Honors College

David Jenemann

Areas of Expertise: Film and Television, Critical Theory, Modernism, Twentieth Century Literature

David.Jenemann@uvm.edu

 

stand-in image, no photo of Brian Kent availableSenior Lecturer, Emeritus

Brian Kent

Areas of Expertise: American Literature, Composition

Brian.Kent@uvm.edu

Mary Lou Kete, wearing large earings, hair up, smiling off camera Professor

Mary Lou Kete

Areas of Expertise: 19th-Century American literature, African-American literature, Critical theory, Women's Studies

Mary.Kete@uvm.edu

 

Eric Lindstrom sitting in his office surrounded by books and plants, wearing glasses Associate Professor

Eric Lindstrom

Areas of Expertise: British Romanticism, romantic to modern poetry, literature and philosophy, critical theory

Eric.Lindstrom@uvm.edu

Annika Ljung-Baruth, speaking at a podium, wearing glasses, shoulder length blonde hair Senior Lecturer

Annika Ljung-Baruth

Areas of Expertise: Women in literature, Modern literature and philosophy, Women’s and Gender Studies

Annika.Ljung-Baruth@uvm.edu

 

Loka Losambe looking into camera, cropped hairFrederick M. and Fannie C.P. Corse Professor

Lokangaka Losambe

Areas of Expertise: African-Anglophone literature, Pan-African literature, Black Atlantic literature, Post-colonialism

Lokangaka.Losambe@uvm.edu

Daniel Lusk, speaking into a microphone, wearing glasses, grey hair and beard Emeritus Lecturer

Daniel Lusk

Areas of Expertise: Poetry, Creative Writing, Vermont literature: Poets

Daneil.Lusk@uvm.edu

 

Tony Magistrale looking into camera, wearing dark coat, grey hair Professor

Anthony Magistrale

Areas of Expertise: Poe, Gothicism, Writing Across the Curriculum, Horror Film

Anthony.Magistrale@uvm.edu

Todd McGowan, wearing baseball cap and sunglasses, smiling at camera Professor

Todd McGowan

Areas of Expertise: Hegel, psychoanalysis, and existentialism, and the intersection of these lines of thought with the cinema.

Todd.McGowan@uvm.edu

 

Libby Miles, smiling at camera, wearing glasses, shoulder length grey hair Associate Professor and Director of Foundational Writing and Information Literacy

Libby Miles

Areas of Expertise: Rhetoric and composition, Writing Program Administration, Inter-disciplinary writing, Problem-Based learning, Writing assessment

Libby.Miles@uvm.edu

Hilary Neroni, smiling at camera, image is black and white Professor

Hilary Neroni

Areas of Expertise: Film and media theory, Representations of gender and race, Violence in film and on television, Women directors, Documentary film/video, Feminist theory, Psychoanalytic cultural theory and Marxism.

Hilary.Neroni@uvm.edu

 

Sarah Nilsen, smiling at camera, shoulder length dark hair, standing in front of a castle Associate Professor

Sarah Nilsen

Areas of Expertise: Walt Disney, the popular culture of the Cold War, and cultural diplomacy

Sarah.Nilsen@uvm.edu

Deb Noel, jaw length grey hair with pencil behind her right ear, smiling into camera Senior Lecturer

Deborah Noel

Areas of Expertise: American Literature, Race and Ethnicity in U.S. Literature and Culture, Women in Literature

Deborah.Noel@uvm.edu

 

Holly Painter, short dark hair, smiling at camera Lecturer

Holly Painter

Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing, English and Philosophy

Holly.Painter@uvm.edu

Angela Patten reading from a book into a microphone, wearing glasses, grey hair past her shoulders Senior Lecturer

Angela Patten

Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing, Expository Writing

Angela.Patten@uvm.edu

 

Professor, Interim Director of Undergraduate Advising

Valerie Rohy

Areas of Expertise: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century American literature, LGBT literature, critical theory, feminist theory, queer theory, psychoanalytic theory, and narrative.

Valerie.Rohy@uvm.edu

Lisa Schnell wearing graduation regalia and glasses, speaking at a podium Associate Professor

Lisa Schnell

Areas of Expertise: Renaissance, Shakespeare, 17th-century British, Bible as Literature, Critical Theory, Women's Studies

Lisa.Schnell@uvm.edu

 

Helen Scott working on her computer in her office, wearing glasses, short park hair Associate Professor and Director of The Buckham Overseas Study Program and Director of Undergraduate Advising

Helen Scott

Areas of Expertise: Post Colonialism, Caribbean Anglophone, 20th-century British Literature, Marxist Theory

Helen.Scott@uvm.edu

Thomas Simone looking at the camera, greying beard, wearing glasses Professor

Tom Simone

Areas of Expertise: Dante and translation and commentary of Dante's Divine Comedy, James Joyce and Modernism and neuroesthetics, Shakespeare, Shakespeare and film, modern drama, along with literature of the Western tradition as part of the Integrated Humanities Program

Tom.Simone@uvm.edu

 

Jennifer Sisk smiling at camera, wearing glasses, long red hair Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Jennifer Sisk

Areas of Expertise: Medieval Literature and Culture, Religion and Literature, and History of Christianity

Jennifer.Sisk@uvm.edu

stand-in image, no photo of Sarah Turner available Senior Lecturer

Sarah E. Turner

Areas of Expertise: Race and Ethnicity in Contemporary American Literature, Colorblind Racism and Post-Racial Ideology, Popular Culture, 20th/21st Century Black Women Writers, Modernism, Composition

Sarah.E.Turner@uvm.edu

 

Chris Vaccaro speaking at a podium, dark beard, wearing glasses Senior Lecturer

Chris Vaccaro

Areas of Expertise: Beowulf, Medieval Literature, Tolkien Studies, Sex and Gender Identity Studies

Christopher.Vaccaro@uvm.edu

Nancy Welch, smiling at camera, image is black and white Professor

Nancy Welch

Areas of Expertise: Composition and rhetoric including rhetoric of social movements, U.S. working-class rhetorical history, and women and rhetoric; fiction and nonfiction writing; and literacy studies

Nancy.Welch@uvm.edu

 

Jamie Williamson wearing a dark beanie and glasses, grey beard and hair, smiling at camera Senior Lecturer

James Williamson

Areas of Expertise: Science Fiction and Fantasy, Arthurian Tales, American Indian Literature, Composition

James.T.Williamson@uvm.edu

Sean Witters smiling at camera, dark hair and beard Senior Lecturer

Sean Witters

Areas of Expertise: Modernism, Postmodernism, American Literature, Critical Theory, Film & Television Studies, Critical Race and Ethnic Studies, Dystopian Fiction, Addiction Studies.

Sean.Witters@uvm.edu

 

Hyon Joo Yoo smiling at camera, wearing glasses, dark hair pulled back Associate Professor

Hyon Joo Yoo

Areas of Expertise: East Asian Cinema, Postcolonial Studies, Gender Studies, psychoanalysis, Marxism, Globalization and Media.

hmurphre@uvm.edu



This directory lists all faculty in the English Department, including those in the Film and Television Program.

To see all faculty and affiliated faculty who contribute to the Film and Television Program, see the FTS Faculty Directory.

 

Department Chair

Chair of the English Department
Professor Daniel Fogel

Daniel.Fogel@uvm.edu
(802) 656-4040
Professor Fogel's Faculty Profile

 

FTS Program Director

Film and Television Program Director
Professor Deb Ellis

Deborah.Ellis@uvm.edu
Professor Ellis' Faculty Profile

 

BOSP and Undergraduate Advising Director

Interim Undergraduate Advising Director
Professor Valerie Rohy

Valerie.Rohy@uvm.edu
Professor Rohy's Faculty Profile

 

Director of Graduate Studies

Graduate Studies Director
Professor Jennifer Sisk

Jennifer.Sisk@uvm.edu
Professor Sisk's Faculty Profile

 

Administrative Staff

Administrative Coordinator
Holly Brevent

Holly.Brevent@uvm.edu

Administrative Assistant
Julie Gundersen

Julie.Gundersen@uvm.edu

Administrative Assistant
Beth Wilbur

Beth.Wilbur@uvm.edu

Affiliated Staff: Foundational Writing and Information Literacy Program Assistant
Jace Jamason

Jace.Jamason@uvm.edu

The English department administrative office is open from 8:00am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday. For administrative closings please check the Registrar's office.


Email: English@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3056