Formed in May, 2013 the Board of Advisors is a group of alumni, parents of students, and friends that supports the educational mission of the College. Board members - through their expertise, influence, and commitment - advise the Dean, advance CAS priorities, grow philanthropic support for the College, and expand networks and opportunities for CAS students.


College Board Members

Richard Ader '63 (Chair)
Richard is the founder of U.S. Realty Advisors, LLC, and serves as chairman of the company and chief investment officer. Prior to forming U.S. Realty Advisors, he was chairman of the board and chief executive officer of American Real Estate Partners, a New York Stock Exchange-listed master limited partnership consisting of net lease real estate. Richard is a former member of the board of directors of the UVM Foundation.

David "Dave" Barranco '92 (Economics)
David is a senior managing director and head of risk management at Ambac Assurance Corporation, a New York City-based company specializing in providing municipal bond insurance and financial guarantees for structured financings. David has remained involved with UVM and the College of Arts and Sciences, including the economics department as a scholarship and internship sponsor. He lives in West Windsor, N.J., with his wife Christie McDade (UVM ‘92) and two children.

Ken Connolly '87 (History)
Ken is a managing director at Goldman Sachs where he is responsible for helping the company and its clients understand and shape the evolving legislative and regulatory environment. He lives in Chevy Chase, Md., with his wife and three children.

Barbara Diette '80 (Economics)
Barbara heads up the operational risk function within Enterprise Risk Management at State Street Corporation and is responsible for the implementation of operational risk policies, guidelines and standards world-wide. In addition, she oversees the corporate insurance and the enterprise technology risk functions and is responsible for establishing a comprehensive risk program for the Global Operations and Information Technology Division within State Street. Barbara lives in London with her husband.

David Godkin '77 (Psychology)
David graduated from UVM in 1977 with a B.A. in psychology and received his law degree from Georgetown University. He is founder and partner at Birnbaum & Godkin in Boston, Massachusetts.

Jordan Guzak '17 (Computer Science)
Jordan is a software developer at Honeywell Aerospace working on test systems for commercial aircraft radar products in Redmond, Wash.

Jerold Jacobson '62 (Political Science)
Jerold is a partner at Proskauer Rose in New York City. He has been practicing labor and employment law since 1966. He advises employers about National Labor Relations Board representation and unfair labor practice proceedings; union organization campaigns; federal, state and municipal employment discrimination administrative and court proceedings; affirmative action programs; application and interpretation of collective bargaining agreements; grievance and arbitration proceedings and related court proceedings.

Will Kies G '04 (Geography)
Will is the executive director of Greenwich Land Trust, a conservation organization in Connecticut. Prior to joining the Land Trust, he served as the director of education at the Heckscher Farm at the Stamford Museum & Nature Center, serving in senior leadership for over ten years. Will also has held positions at the U.S. Geological Survey and with Outdoor Explorations, as part of the AmeriCorps VISTA program. He currently lives in Cos Cob, Conn., with his wife, Meghan.

Peter Laibson '55 (Zoology and Psychology)
Peter is a renowned ophthalmologist and director emeritus of the Cornea Service at Wills Eye Institute in Philadelphia. He is affiliated with multiple hospitals in the Philadelphia area, including Jefferson Health-Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals. In 2007 he received the UVM Alumni Achievement Award. Peter lives in Philadelphia with his wife Ruth.

Barbara Mieder
Barbara received her M.A. from Middlebury College and Ph.D. Michigan State University. She taught German and Latin at Milton High School for forty years before retiring in 2011. Currently, she is a chair of the board of trustees of the Vermont Historical Society and a board member of the Dorothy Alling Memorial Library in Williston. She is the former chair of the Vermont Humanities Council and participates as a scholar with the council's reading and discussion programs. Her husband is a professor of German and folklore at UVM.

Arthur "Art" Miller '75 (History)
Art was executive vice president and general counsel of GSI Commerce, Inc., a leading publicly-traded provider of ecommerce and interactive marketing services acquired by eBay in 2011. Prior to GSI, he worked at the law firm of Blank Rome LLP and as an attorney with the Securities and Exchange Commission. He lives with his wife in Philadelphia.

Emily Moskowitz '89 (Political Science)
Emily has a health coach practice in the greater Boston area and is a yoga and cycling instructor. Mrs. Moskowitz lives in Newton, Mass.

Dan Newcomb '65 (Political Science)
Dan received his law degree from Columbia University and is of counsel at the global law firm Shearman & Sterling LLP, in New York City where his practice includes a wide variety of civil, administrative, and complex criminal cases. He founded the firm's anti-corruption group and represents clients in investigations, disputes and regulatory proceedings and advises on anti-money laundering, economic sanctions and sovereign immunity matters. He served as a U.S. Department of Justice and Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) sanctioned anti-corruption compliance monitor. Both Dan and his son Alec ’95 are members of the UVM Boulder Society.

Robert "Rob" Rosen '90 (Political Science)
Rob is the Director of Philanthropic Partnerships at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation in Seattle. In this role, he leads a team that oversees the foundation’s relationship with philanthropists and charitable organizations across the globe. Previously he served as director of the foundation’s executive office. Before joining the foundation in 2007, Rob served as senior director of the Corporate Finance Practice of the Corporate Executive Board, the international business strategy and research firm. Previously, he served as political director for Senator Edward M. Kennedy and in the White House as assistant to the president and director of advance for President Clinton.

Bob Seelig '83 (Economics)
The Seelig Group ("TSG") is a private media and entertainment principal investment and advisory firm founded in 2012 by a group of successful and experienced entrepreneurs, executives and investors. Previously Bob was a partner at Latner Holdings LLC/Dryden Advisors LLC and managing director of CIBC World Markets.

Adam Strochak '87 (Political Science)
Adam retired from Weil, Gotshal & Manges in Washington, D.C. where he was a partner in their business finance and restructuring practice. He is an avid photographer. Adam also serves on UVM's Regional Alumni Board for the Washington, D.C. area.

Robert "Bob" Taisey '50 (Political Science and European History)
Bob received his law degree from Cornell and practiced law in New York City for over 62 years, first with a firm called Davies, Hardy & Schenck. After several minor acquisitions, it merged with Windels, Marx Davies & Ives in 1968. In 2000, Bob and three colleagues left for Holland & Knight PC where he remained until he retired in 2015.

Sigrid ‘Sam’ Usen '84 (Political Science)
Sam is assistant general counsel at the RMR Group Inc. Her son Nick graduated in 2015 from the College of Arts and Sciences, majoring in film & television studies. She lives in Wellesley, Mass.

Wendy Wollish '64 (Zoology)
Wendy is retired from the University of California, San Francisco, where she was a research associate. She lives in Corte Madera, Cal.