Each spring the department juries work of junior majors in studio art. The four prize winners are given an exhibition the following fall in the Colburn Gallery.

Hewitt Prize

Awarded in honor of the late Frank Hewitt, distinguished artist and Associate Professor of Art at UVM.

Ian Crawford Prize

Awarded in honor of the late Ian Crawford, an outstanding student in Studio Art.

Vermont Art Supply Award

Made available through the generosity of the owner of the Vermont Art Supply Store on Pine Street in Burlington.

Owen Prize

Awarded to an exceptional Junior through the generosity of faculty Emeritus Frank Owen.

Previous Prize Winners

2020 - Noah Zhou, Jess Vos, Alicia Russotti, Elinor Swanson
2018 – Lizzie Ames, Chloe Foster, Ex Johnston, Keira Meiser
2017 – Lily Barker, Tyler Fletcher, YanYan Kwan, Jun Xiao
2016 – Grayson Crounse, Sarah Ingraham, Emilia Headrick, Chloe Mills
2015 – Jeff Maynard, Jess D’Amelio, Brian Needles, Julianna Roen
2014 – Elizabeth Powell, Dana Heng, Amanda Marquis, Wylla Skye
2013 – Alexandra Smith, Ruth Shafer, Christopher Rubin, Eliza Carver
2012 – Fraces Cannon, Jackson Tupper, Eliza Walp, Amanda Machamer
2011 – Sarah Bush, Justin Hoekstra, Britt Lilienthal, Yarden Salei

Having my art portfolio critiqued by department faculty, which resulted in winning a Junior prize award, served to solidify my confidence, validate my art making, and has inspired me to continue to pursue art making. I now feel confident in my creative thinking abilities throughout all aspects of my life. –Jeff Maynard ‘16