The anthropology department recognizes outstanding achievement and performance with annual awards presented to deserving students. These awards can be important accolades for students as they construct their resumes and advance to their next stage - be it graduate school or the working world.

Departmental Honors

Departmental honors are awarded to our top students; the criteria include maintenance of a cumulative GPA of at least 3.55 and an anthropology-specific GPA of 3.75. Students graduating with honors wear our distinctive maroon and silver cords along with the usual UVM colors during the commencement ceremony.

George Henry Perkins Award for the Outstanding Senior

This award is named for George Henry Perkins, a UVM faculty member in geology and later, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Perkins is credited with teaching one of the first formal courses in anthropology at an American university. The Perkins Award is presented to the graduating senior who has demonstrated superior intellectual commitment to anthropology during the completion of their degree.

W. A. Haviland Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Anthropology

A Mayanist archaeologist by training, William “Bill” Haviland served UVM for more than 30 years as a professor and chair of the Department of Anthropology. Bill’s career was characterized by his desire to apply anthropological perspectives to modern social problems. The Haviland Award is presented to the graduating senior who best exemplifies Bill’s commitment to finding solutions for real-world crises through the use of anthropological perspectives.

James B. Petersen Archaeology Award

The James B. Petersen Award is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Jim Petersen (1954-2005). Jim received a B.A.  degree in both anthropology and environmental studies from UVM in 1979, and later a Ph.D. in anthropology from University of Pittsburgh in 1983. After several years as director of the Archaeological Research Facility at the University of Maine at Farmington, Jim returned to the UVM in 1997 where he was an associate professor and chair of the anthropology department. He was promoted to professor posthumously. Jim’s areas of interest were vast, and his research centered on the archaeology of Eastern North America, the Caribbean, and the Brazilian Amazon. This research generated numerous publications on such topics as cultural interaction, style and ethnicity, hunter-gatherer/horticultural adaptations, the origins of socio-political complexity, and ceramic and fiber perishable technologies. More than anything, Jim will be remembered for his generosity and absolute love of archaeology; he lived and breathed it. In this spirit, this award goes to graduating seniors who share in this respect and passion for the field of archaeology.

George Henry Perkins Award Winners

2021 - Addie M. Luke-Currier
2020 - Emily L. Morison, Genevieve M. Winn, Erin E. Varnum
2019 - Lindsay Amanda Yamrick
2018 - Roisin Todd
2017 - Julia Lees
2016 - Olivia Sorci and Andrew W. Gambardella
2015 - Luke Dorfman
2014 - Joseph Friedman and Daniel Rosenblum
2013 - Zoe McKenzie and Kate Morrissey
2012 - Jonathan Roketenetz
2011 - Claire Eaton
2010 - Cecilia Ackerman
2009 - Margaret Fitch
2008 - Laura Dale and Mary McDonough
2007 - Emily Rak and Aimee Rosato
2006 - Jenna Iodice and Margaret MacDonald
2005 - Jana Mayette
2004 - Steven Hrotic
2003 - Lars Fossum
2002 - Frances Linsenmeyer
2001 - Debbie Stevens-Tuttle

Winners of the W. A. Haviland Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Anthropology

2021 - Sarah N. Stevens
2020 - Rose A. Lillpopp, Talar A. Gelenian
2019 - Charlotte Diane Malling
2018 - Catie Owen
2017 - Nicole Alexis Walch and Lynn Bourquardez Keating
2016 - Olivia S. Bartelheim and Richard Witting
2015 - Shannon Esrich and Riker Pasterkiewicz
2014 - Rachel Aronson
2013 - Henry Cesari, Monica Johnson and Meghan O'Daniel
2012 - Elizabeth Wright and Cecile Reuge
2011 - Sydney Ganon
2010 - Emily Strattner
2009 - Abray Stillson and Maxwell Tracy
2008 - Vanessa Brigham
2007 - Jaska Bradeen
2006 - Abraham Awolich and Colin Robinson
2005 - Jesse Robie and Myles Jewell
2004 - Sara Grasso and Josh MacLeod
2002 - Caitlin O'Neill
2001 - Elena Taylor-Garcia

Winners of the James B. Petersen Archaeology Award

2021 - Meghan A. Remillard
2020 - Kailey R. Loughran
2019 - Hayley O.Malloy, Anna Agnes Renzi
2018 - Sylvie Littledale
2017 - Travis Ivan Brigham and Leyla Namy Dickason
2016 - Andrew W. Gambardella and Avery Lavalley
2015 - Katherine Hoadley
2014 - Joy Tatem
2013 - Zoe McKenzie
2012 - Mark Agostini
2011 - Richard Hart and Laurence Wolf
2010 - James Allen
2009 - Kathryn Abbott-Koch and Grace Cameron
2008 - Brennan Gauthier
2007 - Andrew Beaupre
2006 - Rob Ingraham

2020 Anthropology Award winners


Special congratulations to 2020 award winners in anthropology. The George Henry Perkins Award for Outstanding Seniors shared by Emi Morison, Genevieve Winn, and Erin Varnum. The W. A. Haviland Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Anthropology shared by Rose Lillpopp and Tali Gelenian.  The James Petersen Award in Archaeology awarded to Kailey Loughran.