The New Achiever Alumni Award recognizes and honors individuals who earned an undergraduate or graduate degree in the last 15 years (2003-2017) from a program currently or formerly affiliated with the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. 

This award is intended to honor those who have achieved excellence in one or more of the following areas:

  • a record of professional achievement, such as job advancements, publications, and/or entrepreneurial efforts, which show promise for future success;
  • demonstrated leadership in a chosen endeavor or interest, such as service on committees, boards or other professional associations;
  • contributions toward the betterment of society through involvement in worthy causes, community service, and/or humanitarian undertakings; and/or
  • demonstrated support of and/or service to the University and/or College.

Award Procedure

To nominate someone for the New Achiever Alumni Award, complete and send the File nomination form and two to five additional letters of support from other individuals. A copy of the nominee's resume would be helpful but is not required.

The winner(s) will be notified in advance of the award presentation.The New Achiever Alumni Award will be bestowed at the CALS Alumni and Friends Dinner on Saturday, May 12, 2018, 5-8PM, in the Grand Maple Ballroom of the UVM Dudley H. Davis Student Center, Burlington, Vermont. 

Each nomination received will be considered on an annual basis for a two-year period from the date of submission.

Nominations must be submitted by 2019 TBA.

Questions about this award should be directed to Robin Smith or call (802) 656-0321.

Past Recipients

• 2018
Lindsey E. King ’04
• 2017
Jennifer J. Colby ’94, G ’12
• 2016
Terence L. Bradshaw '97, G '11, PhD '15
• 2015
Jeffrey M. DeCelles '03
• 2014
Shaun M. Gilpin '09
James D. Henley '04
• 2013
Emma Wall '01, G'04, PhD'08
• 2012
No Award Given
• 2011
Dennis J. D'Amico '02, G'04, PhD'08
• 2010
S. Helen Labun Jordan G'05
Kevin M. Kouri '00
• 2009
Brett A. Denny '05
• 2008
Emilie Beaupre' '01
• 2007
Nicole Boisvert Quinn '94
• 2006
Christine M. Werneke '95, G'97
• 2005
Willow P. Smart '92
• 2004 and 2003
No Award Given
• 2002
Carol R. Lauzon '91
• 2001
Rebecca L. Piston '86
• 2000
Andrew B. Meyer '92
• 1999
Samuel C. Dixon '84
Mark A. Rodgers '85
• 1998
Todd J. Pritchard '85 G'91 Ph.D.'98
• 1997
Paul S. Kindstedt '80 G'82
• 1996
Karen I. Plaut '81
(first awardee)