h1{text-align: center;}     V. Ernesto Méndez  Co-Director, Agroecology and Livelihoods Collaborative Areas of Focus: Agroecology, Participatory Action Research, Food security and sovereignty, Transdisciplinarity, Agroecology principlesContact: Ernesto.Mendez@uvm.edu

V. Ernesto Méndez

Co-Director, Agroecology and Livelihoods Collaborative
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, Participatory Action Research, Food security and sovereignty, Transdisciplinarity, Agroecology principles
Ernesto.Mendez@uvm.edu

Martha Caswell, M.P.P.

Co-Director, Agroecology and Livelihoods Collaborative
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, food sovereignty, participatory action research (PAR), scholar activism
Martha.Caswell@uvm.edu

Vic Izzo, Ph.D.

Educational Coordinator, Agroecology and Livelihoods Collaborative and PSS Lecturer
Areas of Focus: Evolutionary Ecology, Entomology, Sustainable Pest Management, Agroecology
vizzo@uvm.edu

Scott Lewins

Extension Coordinator, Agroecology and Livelihoods Collaboravtive and PSS Lecturer
Areas of Focus: Entomology, Biological Control, Insect Agroecology, and Sustainable Agriculture Contact: slewins@uvm.edu

Colin Anderson

Research Coordinator, Agroecology and Livelihoods Collaborative
Areas of Focus: Entomology, Biological Control, Insect Agroecology, and Sustainable Agriculture Contact: Colin.Anderson@uvm.edu

Gabriela Bucini, Ph.D.

Research Associate, ALC
Co-PI for Agroecology Support to the Collaborative Crop Research Program (CCRP)

Areas of Focus: Agroecology, socio-ecological systems and agricultural practices that sustain both farmers and healthy landscapes
Gabriela.Bucini@uvm.edu

Nils McCune, Ph.D.

Research Associate, Agroecology Support to the Collaborative Crop Research Program (CCRP)
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, Rural Social Movements, Peasant Economy, Food Sovereignty, Popular Education
mccune.nils@gmail.com

Carlos Andres Gallegos-Riofrío, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, indigenous people, rural studies, public health nutrition, social marketing, applied participatory research
c.a.gallegos@uvm.edu

Karen Nordstrom, Ph.D.

Research Associate
Areas of Focus: Agroecology pedagogy, participatory evaluation, educational action research, contemplative studies
karen.nordstrom@gmail.com

Alissa White, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Associate
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, participatory action research, agricultural resilience to climate change, sustainable livelihoods, and the intersections of global climate change, sustainable agriculture and ecology
Alissa.C.White@uvm.edu

Aura M. Alonso-Rodríguez, M.S.

Ph.D. Student, Natural Resources, Rubenstein School
Areas of Focus: Tropical Ecology, Biodiversity Conservation, Ecosystem Services, Agroecosystems, Sustainable Livelihoods
Aura.Alonso-Rodriguez@uvm.edu

Janica Anderzén

Ph.D. Student, Plant and Soil Science
Areas of Focus: smallholder coffee agroforestry systems in Mesoamerica, Participatory Action Research, Agroecology, Ecological Economics.
Janica.Anderzen@uvm.edu

Sam Bliss

Ph.D. Student, Natural Resources, Rubenstein School
Areas of Focus: Ecological economics, degrowth, decommodifying food, non-market agriculture, yard farming
samcbliss@gmail.com

Amaya M. Carrasco-Torrontegui

Ph.D. Student, Food Systems
Areas of Focus: Food systems, agroecology, urban agriculture, climate change, sustainability, wellbeing, food justice, community engagement
Amaya.Carrasco@uvm.edu

Ayana Curran-Howes

Ph.D. Student, Food Systems
Areas of Focus: PAR, peasant economies, agroecological design and transition, museum studies, grassroots social movements
Ayana.Curran-Howes@uvm.edu

Andrew Gerlicz

Andrew Gerlicz

Ph.D. Student, Plant and Soil Science
Areas of Focus: Smallholder coffee production, soil health
Andrew.Gerlicz@uvm.edu

Katie Horner

Ph.D. Student, Plant and Soil Science
Areas of Focus: Agroecology Pedagogy Catherine.Horner@uvm.edu

Becky Madden

Ph.D. Student, Plant and Soil Science
Vegetable Nutrient Management Specialist, UVM Extension

Areas of Focus: Vegetable farming
Rebecca.Maden@uvm.edu

Patricia Natividad, M.S.

Ph.D. Student, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Areas of Focus: Agroecological systems, evaluation of development programs in rural areas
patnatividad@gmail.com

Michelle Nikfarjam, M.A.

Ph.D. Student, Food Systems
Areas of Focus: Food systems, agroecology, local knowledge and climate change resilience, gender and feminist methodologies
Michelle.Nikfarjam@uvm.edu

Zachary Smith

Ph.D. Student, Plant and Soil Science
Agricultural Business Educator, UVM Extension
Areas of Focus: Agricultural entrepreneurship, indigenous community health and resilience, international exchange programming in Latin America, land tenure succession planning
Zachary.M.Smith@uvm.edu

Alisha Utter

Ph.D. Student, Plant and Soil Science
Areas of Focus: Beginning farmers and ranchers; Veganic agriculture; stockfree farming
autter@uvm.edu

Krizzia Soto-Villaneuva

Ph.D. Student, Food Systems
Areas of Focus: colonial island and Indigenous food systems, food sovereignty, environmental justice
ksotovil@uvm.edu


Carol Adair
Associate Professor of Climate Change and Adaptation, UVM Rubenstein School

Contact: carol.adair@uvm.edu

Alejandra Guzmán Luna, Ph.D.
Faculty, Universidad Veracruzana
Contact: Alejandra.Guzman-luna@uvm.edu
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, Participatory Action Research, Livelihoods, Small-scale coffee farming

Rigoberto Hernandez Jonapa, B.S.
Mexico Coordinator “Assessment of Diversification Strategies in Smallholder Coffee Systems of Mesoamerica” Project

Contact: rhernandez.jonapa@outlook.com

Areas of Focus: Participatory Action Research (PAR); Coffee Systems; Chiapas, Mexico/Investigación Acción Participativa (IAP), Sistemas de Café, Chiapas, México

Diana Luna, M.S.
Research Associate

Contact: diana.lunagonzalez@gmail.com

Areas of Focus: Food security and nutrition, Sustainable livelihoods, System dynamics modelling, Participatory Action Research

Cynthia Ramírez Ríos
Research Associate, Project Manager: Southern Mexico
Contact: cynthia.alc.canunite@gmail.com
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, Participatory Action Research, Popular Education and Food Sovereignty with peasants in Southern Mexico

Roseann (Rose) Cohen, Ph.D.
Executive Director, Community Agroecology Network (CAN)
Research Associate, Center for Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems (CASFS), University of California, Santa Cruz
Contact: rose@canunite.org
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, participatory action research, political ecology, gender, youth, immigration.

Carmen Cortez, PhD.
Associate Director, Community Agroecology Network (CAN)
Contact: carmen@canunite.org
Areas of Focus: community processes of exchange; food sovereignty; connection of land, culture, and community self-governance.

Heather Darby, PhD.
Agronomy Professor and Lead, UVM Extension Northwest Crops and Soil Program
Contact: Heather.Darby@uvm.edu
Areas of Focus: Soil quality and nutrient management; water quality; participatory research; grain production; organic farming; forages; hops; hemp; oilseed crops; milkweed; biofuel production.

S’ra DeSantis, M.S. (ALC Alumn)
Co-Director, UVM Farmer Training Program (FTP)
Contact: sra.desantis@uvm.edu
Areas of Focus: Organic management of small-scale, diversified agricultural production, organic vegetable production.

Margarita Fernandez, Ph.D.
(ALC Alumn)
Executive Director, Vermont Caribbean Institute

Contact: margarita@vtcaribbean.org
Areas of Focus: Agroecology; Food security; Food sovereignty; Livelihoods; Cooperatives.

Joshua Faulkner, Ph.D.

Farming and Climate Change Coordinator, Center for Sustainable Agriculture Contact: Joshua.Faulkner@uvm.edu

Areas of Focus: Climate change adaptation in agriculture; soil and water management; agricultural hydrology and water quality

Stephen R. Gliessman

Professor Emeritus of Agroecology, University of California, Santa Cruz
Chair, Board of Directors, Community Agroecology Network
Editor, Agroecology and Sustainable Food Systems
Contact: gliess@ucsc.edu
Areas of Focus: Agroecology, Agroecological transitions, Sustainability, Education in Agroecology, Sustainable Food Systems

John Hayden

Owner and Farmer, The Farm Between, Jeffersonville, VT

Contact: thefarmbetween@gmail.com

Stephanie Hurley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Plant & Soil Science
Contact: Stephanie.E.Hurley@uvm.edu
Areas of Focus: Landscape Design & Planning; Ecological Design; Green Stormwater Infrastructure; Land Use and Watershed Management; Urban Ecology; Landscape Visualization

Scott C. Merrill, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Plant & Soil Science
Contact: Scott.C.Merrill@uvm.edu
Areas of Focus: Systems ecology, Integrated Pest Management (IPM), social-ecological systems, Landscape ecology, serious games, experimental gaming, animal biosecurity, climate change, population modeling, Monte Carlo simulations, and spatiotemporal modeling.

Katlyn Stillings Morris, Ph.D. (ALC Alumn)

Higher Education Field Representative, AFT Vermont; Research Associate

Contact: Katlyn.Morris@uvm.edu
Areas of Focus: Tropical smallholder agriculture, food security, international environmental studies, agroecology, farmer livelihoods and health

Rachel Schattman, Ph.D. (ALC Alumn)

Assistant Professor of Sustainable Agriculture, University of Maine
Contact: rachel.schattman@maine.edu
Areas of Focus: agroecology, climate change, vegetable and small fruit production, water use efficiency, decision making, behavior, risk assessment, mixed methods research; Website.