Chart 7: Attorney’s Fees in Workers Compensation

State Attorney fee established Determined by Statutory provision whereby attorney fees are added to awardin certain cases Statutory provision making unlawful acceptance of unapproved fees Laypersons permittedto represent claimants Attorney fees, upon approval, become liens against awards
Arkansas 30% first $1,000; 20% next $2,000; 10% on balance, statute agency yes none yes no
Colorado 20% statute agency none none no yes
Indiana individual case basis agency yes none no no
Maine individual case basis agency yes yes no no
New Hampshire 20-25% policy agency yes none no no
Oregon 25% not to exceed $2,800, rule agency yes none yes yes
Vermont 20% max $3,000 policy agency yes none no yes