University of Vermont

SGA Logo

Student Government Association

About Us

SGA values the pillars of Our Common Ground: Respect, Integrity, Innovation, Openness, Justice, and Responsibility. We do not discriminate on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, sex, religion, creed, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, disability, veteran status, age, economic or social class, major, or minor.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of the Chairs of each of the Senate's seven committees; it also includes the Treasurer and Speaker of the Senate. In addition to representing the views and wishes of each respected committee this body serves as the principal advisors to the President and Vice President.

The Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch is composed of forty-two senators, twenty-one elected off campus students and twenty-one elected on-campus students. Five of the on-campus senate seats are reserved for first year students. Each senator is a member of one of the senate's seven standing committtees. For more information about committees click here.

The Business of the SGA

The senate meets weekly in its entirety to discuss pending bills, resolutions, and amendments. The Student Government Association also recognizes and funds over 150 student run organizations on campus.

Mission Statement

WE, the students of the University of Vermont Student Government Association, in order to establish the official representative voice of the undergraduate student body: to realize student power, to have a major role in the decision-making process at the University, and to promote the welfare of the academic, cultural, and social aspects of the University of Vermont Community, and, with the authority recognized and vested by the Board of Trustees and by this Constitution, we do hereby establish an association of governance.

Last modified December 08 2015 03:48 PM