University of Vermont

University Communications


Vermont Campus Compact Recognizes UVM for Civic Engagement

By the view Staff Article published April 4, 2007

Mary Watzin, professor in the Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources and director of the Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory, was named the 2007 Vermont Campus Compact Campus Engaged Scholar Award. The award honors one faculty member in Vermont for making community engagement an integral part of their teaching and research and recognizes the innovative or important use of knowledge for the public good.

Watzin has worked extensively with community organizations to advocate for informed management of Lake Champlain through her service and research. Her current research seeks answers to the causes and impacts of blue-green algae blooms in Lake Champlain. Instead of deploying teams of graduate students to collect data, Watzin formed an innovative, citizen-monitoring program to collect data for the study.

The VCC also recognized Carrie Williams Howe, associate director of the UVM office of Community-University Partnerships and Service-Learning, who was the statewide winner of the Campus Leadership for Civic Engagement Award. Williams Howe helped to expand service-learning course offerings and establish the Faculty Fellows program. She also created the service-learning Teaching Assistant Program.

UVM student Nathaniel Moore received the TD Banknorth Commitment to Service and Engagement Award. As student director of the Alternative Spring Break program at UVM, he helped facilitate 19 spring break trips, in which 190 people served over 6,650 hours.

Bonnie Acker and Abbie Nelson were named Engaged Partner Award winners for their work developing and sustaining a lasting partnership with local schools transforming their food education programs and engaging UVM faculty, students, and staff in this mission.

At the March 29 award ceremony, Gov. Jim Douglas presented a special award to Marc vanderHeyden, retiring Saint Michael’s College president, in honor of his years of service to Vermont, and UVM President Daniel Mark Fogel was introduced as the new chair of Vermont Campus Compact.