University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Center for Holocaust Studies

Faculty

Interim Director (Academic Year 2013-14)

Francis R. Nicosia, Professor of History, Raul Hilberg Distinguished Professor of Holocaust Studies
Profile at website of Department of History
Modern Germany, Holocaust, German-Jewish history, Zionism
Email: fnicosia@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1432

Staff Assistant

Mary Lou Shea
Email: marylou.shea@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1096

Faculty

Antonello Borra, Associate Professor of Romance Languages (Italian)
Profile at website of Department of Romance Languages
Italian Literature and Culture
Email: antonello.borra@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3576

Andrew Buchanan, Lecturer in History
Profile at website of Department of History
World War II, military history, global history
Email: andrew.buchanan@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3180

Meaghan E. Emery, Associate Professor of Romance Languages (French)
Profile at website of Department of Romance Languages
French Literature and Culture
Email: meemery@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3579

Robert Gordon, Professor of Anthropology
Profile at website of Department of Anthropology
Colonial and indigenous genocides, colonialism and the Holocaust.
Email: robert.gordon@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-3884

Jonathan Huener, Associate Professor of History
Profile at website of Department of History
History of Modern Germany, Nazism, Modern Poland, Auschwitz
Email: jonathan.huener@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-4495

Lutz Kaelber, Associate Professor of Sociology
Profile at website of Department of Sociology
"Euthenasia" in Nazi Germany, eugenics, sociology of deviance
Email: lutz.kaelber@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-4197

Dennis Mahoney, Professor of German
Profile at website of Department of German and Russian
German Romanticism, film
Email: dennis.mahoney@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1476

Wolfgang Mieder, Professor of German
Profile at website of Department of German and Russian
Language, folklore (especially proverbs) of the Holocaust, and Victor Klemperer
Email: wolfgang.mieder@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1475

Francis R. Nicosia, Professor of History, Raul Hilberg Distinguished Professor of Holocaust Studies
Profile at website of Department of History
Modern Germany, Holocaust, German-Jewish history, Zionism
Email: fnicosia@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1432

Nicole Phelps, Assistant Professor of History
Profile at website of Department of History
Austria and Habsburg Central Europe, international history, US-European relations
Email: nicole.phelps@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-5789

Robert D. Rachlin, Adjunct Lecturer in German
Professional profile
Law, Weimar and Third Reich Jurisprudence
Email: rrachlin@drm.com
Phone: 802-863-2375

Susanna B. Schrafstetter, Associate Professor of History
Profile at website of Department of History
History of Modern Germany, Cold War, International History, Memory of World War II
Email: susanna.schrafstetter@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-9842

Helga Schreckenberger, Professor of German
Profile ar website of Department of German and Russian
Legacy of the Holocaust in German Literature and Film, German Exile Literature
Email: helga.schreckenberger@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1473

David Scrase, Professor Emeritus of German
Profile at website of Department of German and Russian
Modern German literature, World War Two, Holocaust through literature and the arts
Email: David.Scrase@uvm.edu
Phone: 802-656-3430

David Shiman, Professor of Education
Profile at website of College of Education and Social Services
Human Rights Education, Prejudice Reduction Curriculum, Multicultural Education
Email: david.shiman@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1428

Alan E. Steinweis, Director (on leave through January 2015)
Professor of History, Carolyn and Leonard Miller Distinguished Professor of Holocaust Studies
Profile at website of Department of History
History of Modern Germany, Nazism, Antisemitism
Email: alan.steinweis@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-1438

Richard Sugarman, Professor of Religion
Profile at website of Department of Religion
Fields: Judaism, Religion and Philosophy
Email: richard.sugarman@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-4383

Steven Zdatny, Professor of History
Profile at website of Department of History
Modern France and Europe, cultural and social history, Vichy France
Email: steven.zdatny@uvm.edu
Phone: (802) 656-5406

Last modified March 05 2014 02:25 PM