Taekwondo Logo

UVM Taekwondo

Taekwondo Team

The first ever Eastern Collegiate Taekwondo Conference tournament to take place at UVM was held on Sunday April 27th, 2014! 207 competitors, 24 referees, 6 rings, and in the end a smooth-running first-rate ECTC event accomplished by a first-time host. UVM was not scheduled to be the host, but picked up the role with only 1 month to organize, instead of the usual 3-4 months. Great work by the the whole UVM Taekwondo club who pulled together, supported each other, gave up sleep, and made it all happen on time and on budget. Amazing! Thanks also to UVM Club Sports, SGA, and Event Services who were very supportive of our event. We couldn't have done it without Medical either! Dr. Adam Shafritz (our club advisor), Cody Parker and the UVM Athletic Trainer staff, our EMT staff of Josh from UVM Rescue and alumKat Fitzsimmons. Also alum Julie Tryhorne Hart, RN. We had the support of many alumni (from UVM Taekwondo's 24 year history as a Club Sport!) as volunteers. Special thanks to Mr. Leon Lifschutz, our Club Sports Coordinator, who was a great partner in preparing for the tournament. The ECTC was very impressed with the result and awarded Student Leader of the Year to UVM Taekwondo Club President Heather Peatman for coordinating the tournament so well and leading her team to this smashing success. Many thanks also to Mr. Thomm Buttolph and Mr. Nirav Daphtary for their lower-profile, but highly valuable work as volunteer coordinators managing people and logistics. It was a fine day for UVM! Congrats to the sparring team made up of Taylor Schmidt, Shannon Kane and Rachel Wood on the silver medal, Cleo Flemming on her bronze medal in Poomsae and to Heather Peatman on her ECTC Award as a 2013-2014 Student Leader!