University of Vermont

Cultivating Healthy Communities

Research Project

Regional Collaboration Using Mental Modeling of Small-Scale and Direct Market Farmers to Develop Produce Safety Curricula that Results in Behavior Change

To develop a multi-state research project to 1) understand how mental models may facilitate or act as barriers to small-scale and direct market farmers adopting food safety practices on their farms, and 2) utilizing the information from the mental model research and adult education theory, explore which educational methods are most successful at effecting positive changes in produce safety behavior among small scale and direct farmers.

Project Team:

  • Principal Investigator
    Jason Parker, Ph.D.,
    UVM Agricultural Experiment Station
    802-656-1395
    jparker7@uvm.edu
  • Virginia Nickerson, Ph.D.
    UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture
    802-505-8189
    gnickers@uvm.edu
  • David Conner, Ph.D.
    UVM Community Development & Applied Economics
    802-656-1965
    97dconne@uvm.edu
  • Lori Pivarnik, Ph.D.
    University of Rhode Island
    Department of Nutrition & Food Sciences
    401-874-2972
    pivarnik@uri.edu\
  • Nicole Richard
    University of Rhode Island
    401-874-2977
    nicolerichard@uri.edu
  • Amanda Kinchla, M.S.
    UMass Extension
    413-545-1017
    amanda.kinchla@foodsci.umass.edu
  • Rich Bonanno, Ph.D.
    UMass Extension
    (978) 682-9563
    rbonanno@umext.umass.edu
  • Diane Hirsch, M.P.H.
    University of Connecticut Extension
    (203)407-3163
    diane.hirsch@uconn.edu
  • Alexandra Bell, Ph.D.
    University of Connecticut
    (860) 486-0251
    sandy.bell@uconn.edu
  • Jason Bolton, Ph.D.
    University of Maine Cooperative Extension
    (207) 942-7396
    jason.bolton@maine.edu
  • Mark Hutton, Ph.D.
    University of Maine Cooperative Extension
    (207) 933-2100
    mhutton@umext.maine.edu
  • Catherine Violette, Ph.D.
    University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
    (603) 862-2496
    catherine.violette@unh.edu
  • Heather Bryant, M.S.
    University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
    (603) 787-6944
    heather.bryant@unh.edu
  • Florence Becot, M.S.
    University of Vermont, Center for Rural Studies
    (802) 656=9897
    florence.becot@uvm.edu

  • For more information:

    Ginger Nickerson UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture(802) 656-5490

    Last modified May 14 2014 10:50 AM