University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Political Science


Faculty - Garrison Nelson

Professor Garrison Nelson

Garrison Nelson Professor (1968)

Area of expertise

American Politics, U.S. Congress, Vermont Elections

Contact Information
Office: Old Mill Room 504
Phone: 802.656.4223

Office Hours: Monday/Wednesday/Friday - 3:00-5:00 or by appointment.

Professor Nelson teaches courses in American govern-ment, political leader-ship and political parties.

He is the author of more than one hundred articles and professional papers on the U.S. Congress and elections in Vermont and is a regular media commentator on those topics.  He is co-author of The Austin-Boston Connection: Five Decades of House Democratic Leadership, 1937-1989 (Texas A+M University, 2009). Editor-in-Chief of the two-volume work, Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1947-1992 (CQ Press, 1993-94); co-editor of the four-volume work, Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1789- 1946 (CQ Press, 2002), named a “Best Reference Source” by the Library Journal; co-editor of Committees in the U.S. Congress, 1993-2010 (Sage/CQ Press, 2010).  Associate Editor of the Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System (Scribner’s, 1994). Contributor to the Encyclopedia of American Political History (Scribner’s, 1984); ); The Committee on Ways and Means: A Bicentennial History, 1789-1989 (U.S. Government Printing Office, 1989);  Political Parties and Elections in the United States: An Encyclopedia (Garland, 1991); Encyclopedia of the U.S. Congress (Simon & Schuster, 1995); Encyclopedia of New England (Yale University Press,2005); Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections (Facts on File, 2006); and Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions (Sage/CQ Press, 2009) .  Published in the American Political Science Review, PS: Political Science and Politics, the New York Times, Boston Globe, Roll Call, and the Washington Post.  Recipient of the Kroepsch-Maurice Teaching Excellence Award, 2009.   President of the New England Political Science Association (1991-92) and President (1995-96) and Executive Director (1997-2000) of the Northeastern Political Science Association.