University of Vermont

College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Music and Dance


Department Chair and StaffJazz Studies
D. Thomas Toner, Department ChairPaul Asbell, guitar
Kelly Dutra, Department AdministratorJoe Capps, guitar
Sarah Hein, Administrative AssistantTom Cleary, piano

Amber Delaurentis Cleary, voice
WoodwindsRick Davies, trombone
Nadine Carpenter, oboeSteve Ferraris, conga/djembe
Gerald Lanoue, bassoonPatricia Julien, arranging/history
Anne Janson, fluteJohn Rivers, bass
Steven Klimowski, clarinetJeff Salisbury, drumset
Michael Zsoldos, saxophoneAlex Stewart, improvisation/history

Ray Vega, trumpet
BrassMichael Zsoldos, saxophone
Alan Parshley, horn
Ray Vega, trumpet Music History, Theory & Composition
C. Robert Wigness, trombone/tubaDavid Feurzeig, theory/composition

Patricia Julien, theory
PercussionSylvia Parker, theory
Steve Ferraris, conga/djembeAlan Parshley, theory
Jeff Salisbury, drumsetWayne Schneider, history
D. Thomas Toner, percussion Clyde Stats, history
 Alex Stewart, world music
John Mantegna, classical guitarMusic Education
Suzanne Polk, celloPatricia Riley, educational methods
Evelyn Read, violin/violaYutaka Kono, conducting
Heidi Soons, harp
William Tilley, bassEnsembles
 Joe Capps, jazz combo
Tom Cleary, jazz combo
Amber deLaurentis Cleary, jazz voice Yutaka Kono, orchestra
Sarah Cullins, voiceDavid Neiweem, choirs
Erin Grainger, voice Alan Parshley, wind ensemble
David Neiweem, voice Evelyn Read, chamber music
  Jeff Salisbury, percussion ensemble
Keyboard D. Thomas Toner, concert band
Tom Cleary, jazz piano Alex Stewart, jazz ensemble
David Neiweem, organ Ray Vega, jazz combo
Paul Orgel, piano
Sylvia Parker, piano


Faculty Directory

move cursor to expand list

Contact UVM © 2015 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131