University of Vermont

James M. Jeffords Center for Policy Research

The Jeffords Center Advisors:

The James M. Jeffords Center values the insights and advice of stakeholders both within and beyond the University of Vermont Campus.  Our advisory boards and committees help to identify opportunities, provide guidance, and act as ambassadors for the Jeffords Center’s programs.  Our advisors help identify sources of funding, promising projects, caution against political missteps, and ensure that the Jeffords Center’s work reflects the goals of promoting evidence-based, objective and non-partisan policy research on public policy issues in Vermont, the nation and the world. 

The Jeffords Center is guided by three groups of advisors. 

External Advisory Board

The Jeffords Center has an External Advisory Board to provide guidance on the relationship of the Jeffords Center and its programs to the critical policy issues facing the state and nation. The External Advisory Board works to ensure that the academic and research mission of the Jeffords Center remains connected to Senator Jeffords' legacy. Its members suggest new directions for the Jeffords Center, offer commentary on existing programs and results of ongoing research, and assist in mobilizing resources for underwriting Jeffords Center initiatives. Membership of the External Advisory Board is drawn from community leaders acquainted with Senator Jim Jeffords, and his legacy of public service, as well as knowledgeable experts from industry, government (both federal and local), non-profit agencies, and academia.


Geoffrey Brown
Senior Office, The Pew Charitable Trusts

Ken Connolly
Vice President and Director of Energy and Environmental Policy in the Office of Government Affairs, Goldman Sachs

Sherry Kaiman
Consultant in the areas of education, workforce development, health, and the environment.

Erik Smulson
Vice President for Public Affairs and Senior Advisor to the President Georgetown University

Advisory Committee

As required by UVM’s internal guidelines for research centers, the Jeffords Center has an Advisory Committee of deans from the colleges that have faculty involvement in the center.   Members are appointed by the Provost.

Domenico Grasso
Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate College
Professor, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, ex-officio

Richard Galbraith
Director, Center for Clinical & Translational Science
Professor of Medicine, College of Medicine, University of Vermont

Susan Ryan
Director, Center on Disability & Community Inclusion
Professor, Early Childhood Special Education, College of Education and Social Services, University of Vermont

Faculty Advisory Board

The Faculty Advisory serves as the principal board and administrative body of the Jeffords Center from whom the staff seeks feedback, assistance, and counsel on the development of research themes, evolution of programs, and allocation of resources.  The Advisory members are drawn from faculty at UVM who are key stakeholders of the Jeffords Center, including principal investigators on Jeffords Center sponsored projects, Institute Directors, and faculty recipients of Jeffords Center financial support for proposal development.

The Faculty Advisory meets regularly during the academic year to receive reports from Jeffords Center leadership, review proposals, and to provide advice on Jeffords Center programs and initiatives.  It is understood that the Faculty Advisory serves in an advisory capacity and does not have authority to establish or modify the policies and procedures of the Jeffords Center, or the University of Vermont.  However, the Director and stakeholders of the Jeffords Center seek and value the Advisory’s advice and recommendations for strategic direction.  

Anthony "Jack" Gierzynski
Director, Vermont Legislative Research Service
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences, University of Vermont

Susan Brody Hasazi
Professor Emeritus
Stafford Distinguished Professor of Leadership and Special Education, College of Education and Social Services, University of Vermont

Brian Keefe

Stephen Klein
Chief Fiscal Officer, Vermont Legislative Joint Fiscal Office

Heidi Scheuermann
Representative, Vermont House of Representatives

Jill Tarule, Vice Chair
Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, College of Education and Social Services, University of Vermont

Curt Ventriss
Professor, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources, University of Vermont

Burt Wilcke, Chair
Associate Professor and Chair, Medical Laboratory and Radiation Sciences, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, University of Vermont

Contact UVM © 2018 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131