This building, actually numbers 267, 269 and 271 Pearl Street, is thought to have been constructed ca. 1850 as a pedimented gable front Greek Revival house with balancing wings. (1) According to David Blow, dentist Dr. James Lewis was the probable builder of this house where he maintained his dentistry office in the low wing at the left (east) side of the building. (2) Around 1889-94, the westerly wing was replaced by the two-story tower wing with the pyramidal roof, resulting in a picturesque composition where the three distinct parts of the structure rise progressively higher from the eastern to the western end of the building. From roughly 1860 to 1880 the building was home to Hiram Walker, a tinware manufacturer who later was a member of the wholesale grocery firm O.J. Walker & Bros. His widow lived in the house until circa 1920, after which it served as doctors' offices until the 1930's when the building was converted to apartments. (3) The series of condominium wings descending into the ravine at the back of the house were constructed in 1983-84. (4)
(1) Vermont Historic Sites and Structures Survey: Burlington Pearl Street.
(2) Blow, Historic Guide to Burlington Neighborhoods Vol. II, 51-52.
(3) Vermont Historic Sites and Structures Survey: Burlington Pearl Street.
(4) Blow, Historic Guide to Burlington Neighborhoods Vol. II, 51-52.