University of Vermont

The Honors College

Sophomore Seminar Faculty

Each semester, topics for sophomore seminars vary and draw on the rich and diverse interests of the faculty who teach them. Honors faculty from numerous academic disciplines teach these seminars, allowing students to meet scholars from a broad cross section of the university. These seminars are open only to Honors College students.




Fall 2014 and Spring 2015 - Spring 2015 Classes are tentative.
THIS PAGE IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION -
PLEASE CHECK BACK
Professor Class Contact Information
Kit Anderson
Kit Anderson
HCOL 185N Trees and Culture (Fall 2014) Katharine.Anderson@uvm.edu
656-3111
RSENR
The Bittersweet - 153 S. Prospect Street
Faculty Bio
Andrew Barnaby
Andrew Barnaby
HCOL 185K Art of Literary Adaptation (Fall 2014) Andrew.Barnaby@uvm.edu
656-4151
English
Old Mill, Rm. 420
Faculty Bio
Brian Beckage
Brian Beckage
HCOL 185L Climate Change, Complexity & Society (Fall 2014) Brian.Beckage@uvm.edu
656-0197
Plant Biology
Jeffords 345
Faculty Bio
Jan Carney
Jan Carney
HCOL 186D Controversies in Public Health & Health Policy (Spring 2015) Jan.Carney@uvm.edu
656-8275
College of Medicine
Given Courtyard N217
Angeline Chiu
Angeline Chiu
HCOL 186P Shakespeare & The Classical Tradition (Fall 2014) Angeline.Chiu@uvm.edu
656-8613
Classics
481 Main Street, Rm. 301
Faculty Bio
Kelley DiDio
Kelley DiDio
HCOL 186L Art and Its Destruction (Spring 2015) Kelley.DiDio@uvm.edu
656-8214
Art & Art History
Williams Hall
Faculty Bio
C
Rocki DeWitt
HCOL 185O Returns from the Land (Fall 2014) Rocki.DeWitt@uvm.edu
656-0034
School of Business
Kalkin Hall, Rm. 316
Faculty Bio
Catherine Donnelly
Catherine Donnelly
HCOL 185J Issues in Food Systems - Food Safety (Fall 2014) Catherine.Donnelly@uvm.edu
656-5495
Nutrition & Food Science
Carrigan Wing, Rm. 254
Faculty Bio
Jan Feldman
Jan Feldman
HCOL 186I Introduction to Democratic Theory (Spring 2015) Jan.Feldman@uvm.edu
656-4202
Political Science
Old Mill, Rm. 511
Faculty Bio
John Franklin
John Franklin
HCOL 185E Ancient Warfare Gaming Workshop John.Franklin@uvm.edu
656-0649
Classics
481 Main Street, Rm. 304
Faculty Bio
Jeff Frolik
Jeff Frolik
HCOL 185B Information Through the Ages (Fall 2014) Jeff.Frolik@uvm.edu
656-0732
CEMS
Votey 357
Faculty Bio
Ian Grimmer
Ian Grimmer
HCOL 185C Cultural Crisis 19th Century Europe (Fall 2014)
HCOL 186C History of Utopias (Spring 2015)
Ian.Grimmer@uvm.edu
656-3180
History
Wheeler House
Faculty Bio
Jana Kraft
Jana Kraft
HCOL 186F Animal Products in Human Nutrition (Spring 2015) Jana.Kraft@uvm.edu
656-5489
Animal Science
Terrill Hall, Rm. 219
Faculty Bio
Edward McMahon
Edward McMahon
HCOL 185D Crafting Democratic Institutions (Fall 2014) Edward.McMahon@uvm.edu
656-4565
CDAE/Political Science
Morrill Hall, Room 205
Faculty Bio
Scott Merrill
Scott Merrill
HCOL 186B Ecological Gaming (Spring 2015) Scott.C.Merrill@uvm.edu
656-0711
Plant & Soil Science
Jeffords Hall, Rm. 217
Faculty Bio
Beth Mintz
Beth Mintz
HCOL 186K Social Class and The Attack on Public Education (Spring 2015) Beth.Mintz@uvm.edu
656-2163
Sociology
31 South Prospect Street,
Faculty Bio
Helga Schreckenberger
Helga Schreckenberger
HCOL 186H The Texture of Memory (Spring 2015) Helga.Schreckenberger@uvm.edu
(802) 656-1473
German & Russian
Waterman, Rm. 415
Faculty Bio
John Summa
John Summa
HCOL 186A Alt-Econ: Rethinking Homo Economicus (Spring 2015) John.Summa@uvm.edu
656-4392
Economics
Old Mill, rm. 336
Faculty Bio
Donna Toufexis
Donna Toufexis
HCOL 185G Women in Science (Fall 2014) Donna.Toufexis@uvm.edu
656-3497
Psychology
Dewey Hall, Room 302
Faculty Bio
Kevin Trainor
Kevin Trainor
HCOL 186E The Problem of Experience (Spring 2015) Kevin.Trainor@uvm.edu
656-0799
Religion
481 Main Street, Rm. 203
Faculty Bio
Scott Van Keuren
Scott Van Keuren
HCOL 186G Ancient Worlds in the Media (Spring 2015) Scott.VanKeuren@uvm.edu
656-8546
Anthropology
Williams Hall, Rm. 501
Faculty Bio
Jim Vigoreaux
Jim Vigoreaux
HCOL 186M Imitating Nature (Spring 2015) Jim.Vigoreaux@uvm.edu
656-4627
Biology
322 Marsh Life Sciences
Faculty Bio
Deane Wang
Deane Wang
HCOL 186J Ecology for Sustainability (Spring 2015) Deane.Wang@uvm.edu
656-2694
RSENR
Jeffords Hall, Rm. 258
Faculty Bio
Burton Wilcke
Burton Wilcke
HCOL 185F One Health (Fall 2014) Burton.Wilcke@uvm.edu
656-0525
Pathology
Rowell N/A Health, Rm. 302G
Faculty Bio
Tamara Williams
Tamara Williams
HCOL 185M Controversies in Modern Genomics (Fall 2014) Tamara.Williams@uvm.edu
656-0394
Pharmacology
Health Science Research Facility 316
Faculty Bio
Eric Zencey
Eric Zencey
HCOL 185H Political Economy for a Finite Planet (Fall 2014) Eric.Zencey@uvm.edu
229-4009
RSENR
Aiken Center
Faculty Bio
Alex Zakaras
Alex Zakaras
HCOL 185I Individualism and Its Dangers (Fall 2014) Alex.Zakaras@uvm.edu
656-8229
Political Science
Old Mill Rm. 522
Faculty Bio

Last modified July 17 2014 01:59 PM