home
College of Arts and Sciences

Department of History

roster

Department of History Faculty Roster

Fall 2013

Full-time Faculty (* May be assigned as Advisor)

BRIGGS, Charles (Charles.Briggs@uvm.edu)

(PhD, UNC at Chapel Hill, 1993; Lecturer)  Intellectual & cultural history of later medieval Europe, world and early European history

BROWN, Dona * (Dona.Brown@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Massachusetts 1989; Professor and Acting Director of Graduate Studies) Vermont, U.S., cultural

BUCHANAN, Andrew (Andrew.Buchanan@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Rutgers University, 2011; Lecturer) US History, US Foreign Relations, US Military, Global History

CARR, Jacqueline * (Jacqueline.Carr@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of California, Berkeley 1998; Associate Professor) Colonial America, American Revolution, Early Republic, British Atlantic

DESLANDES, Paul * (Chair) (Paul.Deslandes@uvm.edu)

(PhD, University of Toronto 1996; Associate Professor & Chair) Britain, gender and sexuality

ERGENE, Bogac * (Bogac.Ergene@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Ohio State 2001; Associate Professor, Director, Middle East Studies Program) Islam and world

ESSELSTROM, Erik * (Erik.Esselstrom@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of California, Santa Barbara 2004; Associate Professor, Director of UVM’s Asian Studies Program) China, Japan

FIELD, Sean * (Sean.Field@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Northwestern 2002; Associate Professor) Medieval Europe

GRIMMER, Ian (Ian.Grimmer@uvm.edu) (F13-SP14 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, University of Chicago, 2010; Senior Lecturer) Modern European Intellectual History

GUSTAFSON, Melanie * (Melanie.Gustafson@uvm.edu)

(PhD, New York University 1993; Associate Professor) U.S. social, U.S. women, gender politics

HUENER, Jonathan * (Jonathan.Huener@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Illinois, Urbana-Champaign 1998; Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Coordinator of Transfer Affairs, Study Abroad & Internships) modern Germany, Holocaust, Poland, 20th-century Europe

KORNBLUH, Felicia (Felicia.Kornbluh@uvm.edu) (F13-SP14 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, Princeton University, 2000; Associate Professor) post-1945 U.S. history, legal history, the history of women and gender, social welfare, disability history, and African American history

MASSELL, David (David.Massell@uvm.edu) (F13 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, Duke 1997; Professor) Canada, U.S., environmental

McCULLOUGH, Robert (* HP Program Only) (Robert.McCullough@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Cornell 1993; Associate Professor) Historic Preservation, Architectural History and Historic Preservation Law

MCGOWAN, Abigail (Abigail.McGowan@uvm.edu) (F13 Leave)

(PhD, U of Pennsylvania, 2003; Associate Professor) South Asia

NICOSIA, Frank * (Francis.Nicosia@uvm.edu)

(PhD, McGill University 1978; Professor) Raul Hilberg Distinguished Professor of Holocaust Studies and Acting Director, Carolyn and Leonard Miller Center for Holocaust Studies) modern German History, Holocaust, and modern German Jewish History

OSTEN, Sarah * (Sarah.Osten@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Chicago 2010; Assistant Professor) Latin America

PHELPS, Nicole * (Nicole.Phelps@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2008; Associate Professor) U.S. Foreign Relations, Gilded Age & Progressive Era, Habsburg Central Europe, transnational history

SCHRAFSTETTER, Susanna (Susanna.Schrafstetter@uvm.edu) (F13-SP14 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, U of Munich, 1998; Associate Professor) modern and recent European History

STEINWEIS, Alan E. (Alan.Steinweis@uvm.edu) (F13-SP14 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, North Carolina, 1988; Professor, Miller Distinguished Professor of Holocaust Studies) Nazi Germany, Holocaust, Jewish

STILWELL, Sean * (Sean.Stilwell@uvm.edu)

(PhD, York, Can. 1999; Associate Professor) Africa

THORNTON, Kevin (Kevin.Thornton@uvm.edu

(PhD, Michigan 1996; Senior Lecturer) 19th Century U.S., U.S. South

VISSER, Thomas (* HP Program Only) (Thomas.Visser@uvm.edu)

(MS, Vermont 1986; Associate Professor and Director, Historic Preservation) Historic Preservation, Architectural Conservation

WHITFIELD, Harvey Amani * (Harvey.Whitfield@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Dalhousie 2003; Associate Professor)  African North American

YOUNGBLOOD, Denise (Denise.Youngblood@uvm.edu) (F13 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, Stanford 1980; Professor) Russia and Eastern Europe, European cultural, film and history

ZDATNY, Steven * (Steven.Zdatny@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Pennsylvania 1982, Professor) Modern France and Europe, cultural and social history

ZELKO, Frank * (Frank.Zelko@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Kansas 2003; Associate Professor)  Environmental History

As of 8/23/13
Contact UVM © 2014 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131