home
The Graduate College

Programs and Degrees

UVM offers over 50 academic programs leading to a master's degree and over 20 programs leading to the doctorate. All graduate degrees are awarded by the Graduate College with the exception of the M.D. degree, which is awarded by the College of Medicine.

Please see below the graduate programs and degrees offered through the Graduate College. The program name links will send you directly to that program's website.

For spring deadlines and fall and summer deadline exceptions - other than those listed below, see Application and Financial Aid Deadlines.

Some programs are willing, on occasion, to review late applications, and some programs accept applications for January admission. Please contact the specific program regarding its policy on these exceptions.

Programs Degrees Fall App. Deadline unless otherwise noted

Requirements

(GRE and GMAT code: 3920 unless otherwise noted)

Coordinators
Accounting
(802) 656-4119
Kalkin Hall
05405-0158
MACC

April 1

Spring - November 15

GMAT - minimum 500 (or GRE) Resume Susan Hughes
macc@uvm.edu
Animal Sciences
(802) 656-2070
Terrill Hall
05405-0148
MS April 1 GRE General

David Kerr
David.Kerr@uvm.edu

Animal, Nutrition and Food Sciences
(802) 656-2070
Terrill Hall
05405-0148
PhD April 1 GRE General

David Kerr
David.Kerr@uvm.edu

Stephen Pintauro Stephen.Pintauro@uvm.edu

Biochemistry
(802) 656-2220
Given Building
05405-0068

suspended – folded into Cellular, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences   Robert Kelm
Robert.Kelm@uvm.edu
Bioengineering
(802) 656-3333
Votey Building
05405-0156
PhD

January 15

Spring - November 1

GRE General Jason Bates
jason.h.bates@uvm.edu
Biology
(802) 656-2922
Marsh Life Science
05405-0086
MS, MST, PhD January 15 GRE General Judith Vanhouten
Judith.Vanhouten@uvm.edu
Biostatistics
(802) 656-2940
16 Colchester Ave 05405-1455
MS March 1

GRE General
TOEFL of 90 or higher will be required for all international applicants (100 to be eligible for GTA support).

Ruth Mickey
mickey@cems.uvm.edu
Business Administration
(802) 656-4119
Kalkin Hall
05405-0158
MBA January 1 GMAT (or GRE) Resume William Cats-Baril
mba@uvm.edu
Cellular, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences
(802) 656-9673
Given Building 05405-0068
PhD December 1

GRE General
TOEFL of 90 or higher will be required for all international applicants (100 to be eligible for GTA support).

Nicholas Heintz
Nicholas.Heintz@uvm.edu
Chemistry
(802) 656-2594
Cook Physical Science 05405-0125
MS, PhD April 1 GRE General Matthew D. Liptak
Matthew.Liptak@uvm.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering
(802) 656-3800
Votey Building
05405-0156
MS, PhD

February 1

Spring - October 15

GRE General George Pinder
pinder@cems.uvm.edu

Clinical and Translational Science
(802) 656-8228
Given Building 05405-0068

MS, PhD

Certificate of Graduate Study

March 1

Spring - October 1

GRE General recommended but not required for admission

Alan Rubin
Alan. Rubin@uvm.edu
Communication Sciences and Disorders
(802) 656-3858
Rowell Building
05405-0068
MS January 1

GRE General
(GRE code: 0754)

Shelley Velleman
cnhsgrad@uvm.edu
Community Development and Applied Economics
(802) 656-2001
Morrill Hall
05405-0106
MS April 1 GRE General
TOEFL of 90 or higher will be required for all international applicants (100 to be eligible for GTA support).
Jane Kolodinsky
Jane.Kolodinsky@uvm.edu
Complex Systems
(802) 656-3330
Votey Building
05405-0156

Certificate of Graduate Study    

Maggie Eppstein
Maggie.Eppstein@uvm.edu

Computer Science
(802) 656-3330
Votey Building
05405-0156
MS, PhD

February 15

Spring - December 1

GRE General Xindong Wu
Xindong.Wu@uvm.edu
Counseling
(802) 656-3888
Mann Hall, Trinity Campus 05405-1757
MS February 1 GRE General Resume Jane Okech
Jane.Okech@uvm.edu

Curriculum and Instruction

 

Teacher Licensure: MAT
Middle Level (802) 656-1411
Secondary (802) 656-1411
(802) 656-1410 - for MED
Waterman Building 05405-0160

MED



MAT
MAT

April 1



February 1
February 1

GRE General or Praxis II
Resume


Resume
Resume

Maureen Neumann
Curriculum & Instruction
Maureen.Neumann@uvm.edu

Regina Toolin
Licensure
Rtoolin@uvm.edu
Dietetics
(802) 656-3374
256 Marsh Life Sciences 05405-0086
MSD December 15 GRE General Amy Nickerson
Amy.Nickerson@uvm.edu
Ecological Design
(802) 656-7786
617 Main Street
Certificate of Graduate Study not currrently accepting students GRE General

Deidre Zoll
Deidre.Zoll@uvm.edu

Ecological Economics
(802) 656-7786
617 Main Street
Certificate of Graduate Study February 1 GRE General
Deidre Zoll
Deidre.Zoll@uvm.edu
Educational Leadership
(802) 656-2936
Waterman Building 05405-0160
MEd

April 30

Spring - January 10

  Kieran Killeen
Kieran.Killeen@uvm.edu

Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
EdD - (802) 656-1442
PhD - (802) 656-0259
Waterman Building 05405-0160


EdD
PhD
January 15
January 6

GRE General
Resume

EdD - Judith Aiken
edd@uvm.edu

PhD - Cynthia Gerstl-Pepin
cessphd@uvm.edu

Educational Studies
(802) 656-3356
Waterman Building 05405-0160
  Suspended    
Electrical Engineering
(802) 656-3331
Votey Building
05405-0156
MS, PhD April 1 GRE General Kurt Oughstun
Kurt.Oughstun@uvm.edu
English
(802) 656-3056
Old Mill 05405-0114
MA February 1 GRE General
Writing Sample
Elizabeth Fenton
english+dgs@uvm.edu
Field Naturalist (Plant Biology)
(802) 656-2930
111 Jeffords Hall 05405
MS February 15 GRE General Jeffrey Hughes
Jeffrey.Hughes@uvm.edu
Food Systems
(802) 656-2042
Marsh Life Sciences 05405-0086
MS February 1 GRE General

Amy Trubek
serena.parnau@uvm.edu

French
(802) 656-3196
Waterman Building 05405-0160
  Suspended   Joseph Acquisto
Joseph.Acquisto@uvm.edu
Geology
(802) 656-3396
Delehanty Hall, Trinity Campus 05405
MS February 15 GRE General Laura Webb
Laura.Webb@uvm.edu
German
(802) 656-3430
Waterman Building 05405-0160
MA April 1 GRE General Helga Schreckenberger
Helga Schreckenberger@uvm.edu
Greek and Latin
(802) 656-3210
481 Main Street
05405-0218
MA, MAT March 1 GRE General Jacques Bailly
Jacques.Bailly@uvm.edu
Greek and Latin Languages
(802) 656-3210
481 Main Street
05405-0218(802) 656-3210
Certificate of Graduate Study March 1   Jacques Bailly
Jacques.Bailly@uvm.edu
Higher Education and Student Affairs Administration
(802) 656-2030
Mann Hall, Trinity Campus 05405-1757
MEd December 15 Resume Kathleen Manning
Kathleen.Manning@uvm.edu
Historic Preservation
(802) 656-3180
Wheeler House
05405-0164
MS March 1 GRE General
Writing Sample
Thomas Visser
histpres@uvm.edu
History
(802) 656-3180
Wheeler House
05405-0164
MA February 15 GRE General
Writing Sample: 10 pages, showing use of primary sources
Abigail McGowan
Abigail.McGowan@uvm.edu
Interdisciplinary
(802) 656-2030
Mann Hall, Trinity Campus 05405-1757
MEd August 1   Robert Nash
Robert.Nash@uvm.edu
Interdisciplinary Study of Disabilities
(802) 656-1334
Mann Hall, Room 313, Trinity Campus 05405-1757
Certificate of Graduate Study     Deborah Lisi-Baker
Deborah.Lisi-Baker@uvm.edu
Materials Science
(802) 656-2644
Cook Physical Science 05405-0125
MS, PhD March 15 GRE General Madalina Furis
madalina.furis@uvm.edu
Mathematical Sciences
(802) 656-4339
16 Colchester Ave 05405-1455
PhD January 15 GRE General Jonathan Sands
Jonathan.Sands@uvm.edu
Mathematics
(802) 656-4339
16 Colchester Ave 05405-1455
MS, MST January 15 GRE General Jonathan Sands
Jonathan.Sands@uvm.edu
Mechanical Engineering
(802) 656-3333
Votey Building 05405-0166
MS, PhD Fall -February 1
Spring - September 1
GRE General - for GRA or GTA funding Yves Dubief
ydubief@uvm.edu
Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
(802) 656-2164
Stafford Hall 05405-0084
  suspended – folded into Cellular, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences    
Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
(802) 656-2540
Given Building 05405-0068
  suspended – folded into Cellular, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences    
Natural Resources
(802) 656-2511
George D. Aiken Center 05404-0088
MS, PhD

February 1

Spring - November 1

GRE General

Kimberly Wallin
Kimberly.Wallin@uvm.edu
Neuroscience
(802) 656-2230
Given Building 05405-0068
PhD December 1 GRE General
TOEFL for International applicants
Rae Nishi
Rae.Nishi@med.uvm.edu

Nursing
CNL

DEPN
(802) 656-3858
Rowell Building 05405-0068

MS
MS

DNP

April 15
April 3

December 1 for Fall

GRE General
GRE General

GRE General

Carol Buck-Rolland
cnhsgrad@uvm.edu
Nutrition and Food Sciences
(802) 656-3374
256 Marsh Life Sciences 05405-0086
MS February 15 GRE General Stephen Pintauro
Stephen.Pintauro@uvm.edu
Pathology
(802) 656-2132
Given Building 05405-0068
MS suspended admissions for 2014 GRE General Arti Shukla
arti.shukla@uvm.edu
Pharmacology
(802) 656-2500
Given Building 05405-0068

MS

PhD - suspended – folded into Cellular, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences

January 15 GRE General Anthony Morielli
Anthony.Morielli@uvm.edu
Physical Therapy
(802) 656-3858
Rowell Building 05405-0068
DPT December 15

GRE General
(GRE code: 7708)

Diane Jette
cnhsgrad@uvm.edu
Physics
(802) 656-2644
Cook Physical Science 05405-0125
MS April 1 GRE General Valeri Kotov
Valeri.Kotov@uvm.edu
Plant and Soil Science
(802) 656-2630
Hill Building 05405-0082
MS, PhD

February 15

Spring - September 1

GRE General Josef Gorres
Josef.Gorres@uvm.edu
Plant Biology
(802) 656-0434
111 Jeffords Hall 05405
MS, PhD December 1 GRE General Mary Tierney
Mary.Tierney@uvm.edu
Psychology
General/Experimental
Clinical

(802) 656-2670
Dewey Hall 05405-0134
PhD
January 2
December 1

GRE General

Strongly recommended GRE Subject (Advanced) for Non-Psychology Majors only

Writing Sample for Clinical Psychology

John Green
Psychology - Experimental
John.Green@uvm.edu

Rex Forehand
Psychology - Clinical
Rex.Forehand@uvm.edu
Public Administration
(802) 656-0009
205 Morrill Hall 05405-0106
MPA

April 1

March 1 for funding

GRE General, GMAT or LSAT Christopher Koliba
lbarchar@uvm.edu
Public Health
(802) 656-8275
Given Courtyard N217 05405-0068
Certificate of Graduate Study

November 15 for Spring
April 1 for Summer
July 1 for Fall

  Jan Carney
jan.carney@uvm.edu
Reading and Language Arts
(802) 656-3356
Waterman Building 05405-0160
  Suspended - Folded under Curriculum and Instruction    
Social Work
(802) 656-8800
Waterman Building 05405-0160
MSW February 1 GRE General
Resume
Susan Roche
kbechtel@uvm.edu
Special Education
(802) 656-2936
Waterman Building 05405-0160
MEd March 15 Must be licensed or eligible for licensure Katherine Shepherd
Katherine.Shepherd@uvm.edu
Statistics
(802) 656-2940
16 Colchester Ave 05401-1455
MS March 1

GRE General
TOEFL of 90 or higher will be required for all international applicants (100 to be eligible for GTA support).

Ruth Mickey
mickey@cems.uvm.edu

Sustainable Transportation Systems and Planning
(802) 656-1317
210 Colchester Ave 05405-1455

Certificate of Graduate Study     Glenn McRae
Glenn.McRae@uvm.edu

Last modified October 25 2013 09:56 AM

Contact UVM © 2014 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131