FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 1, 2007
CONTACT: CHRIS DISSINGER / (802)656-8582
Fleming Museum presents annual Summer Outreach Program:

BURLINGTON, VT- The Robert Hull Fleming Museum continues its tradition of bringing art education to communities across the state with its annual Summer Outreach Program. Held throughout the summer in 18 different communities, this years program -titled The Marvels and Mysteries of Color- features an interactive exploration of the use of color in art and culture.

  The world is alive with color, but where does it come from?  For centuries, artists and dyers searched for ways to create rich and vibrant colors, once made from some of the most expensive materials on earth.  Why is purple the color of royalty?  How did the Aztecs create such brilliant red clothing?  When did blue become popular for a knight's coat of arms?  In this program, we'll discover the surprising tales behind some of our favorite colors as we explore the symbolism and history of color in art. 

  This special art program will beheld at these location's in the following communities:

BARTON: at Barton Public Library on Friday, June 29 at 3:00 PM    Contact: (802)-525-6524

ENOSBURG FALLS: at Enosburg Library on Friday, July 6 at 1:00 PM     Contact: (802)-933-2328

PLAINFIELD: at Cutler Memorial Library on Tuesday, July 10 at 6:30 PM     Contact: (802)-454-8504 

GEORGIA: at Georgia Public Library on Wednesday, July 11 at 2:00 PM     Contact: (802)-524-4643 

BRISTOL: at Lawrence Memorial Library on Thursday, July 12 at 10:00 AM     Contact: (802) 453-2366 

LINCOLN: at Lincoln Library on Monday, July 16 at 2:00 PM     Contact: (802) 453-2665 

QUECHEE: at Quechee Library on Tuesday, July 17 at 4:00 PM     Contact: (802)-295-1232 

NORTHFIELD: at Brown Public Library on Wednesday, July 18 at 12:30 PM     Contact: (802)-485-4621 

TINMOUTH: at Tinmouth Library on Friday, July 20 at 11:00 AM     Contact:  (802)-446-2498

DERBY: at Daily Memorial Library on Tuesday, July 24 at 2:00 PM     Contact: (802)-766-5063 

MILTON: at Milton Library on Wednesday, July 25 at 10:30 AM     Contact: (802)-893-4644 

BURLINGTON: at Fletcher Free Library on Tuesday, July 31 at 2:00 PM     Contact: (802)-863-3403 

RICHMOND: at Richmond Library on Wednesday, August 1 at 10:30 AM     Contact: (802)-434-3036 

COLCHESTER: at Burnham Memorial Library on Thursday, August 2 at 2:00 PM     Contact: (802)-879-7576 

CRAFTSBURY COMMON: at Craftsbury Library on Wednesday, August 8 at 6:30 PM     Contact: (802)-586-9692 

For more information and admission policies please contact the individual museum.

Fleming Museum Contact:(802) 656-0750
or email us at fleming@uvm.edu