University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of English

Teaching Award Winners to Talk Philosophy, Challenges

At a panel discussion Tuesday, Feb. 4, the 2013 winners of UVM's Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards will share their teaching philosophies and "eureka" moments and discuss how they approach the challenges of teaching. The event, which will be facilitated by Joan Rosebush, Kroepsch-Maurice committee chair and 1999 recipient of the award, will take place from 2:30 to 4 p.m. in 303 Bailey/Howe Library.

This 2013 recipients include Tina Escaja, professor of Spanish; Katharine Shepherd, associate professor of education; Allison Kingsley, assistant professor of business; and Jenny Wilkinson, animal science lecturer.

Winners are selected for their excellence in instruction (including learning experiences outside the traditional classroom); their capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge and understanding; their innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development; their demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity; their ability to motivate and challenge students and for evidence of excellent advising.

Register for the event on the Center for Teaching and Learning website