University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of English


Departmental Awards

At the end of each year, the English Department awards outstanding students with a number of departmental awards at the department's honors day. Students interested in the Allbee, Pinta, Pope, or Wainwright awards should speak with their English instructors about how to compete for these awards.

Samuel N. Bogorad Memorial Award for the Outstanding Senior in English:

Samuel N. Bogorad taught English at the University of Vermont from 1946 to 1982. In his honor, the Bogorad Award is given to the most outstanding senior majoring in English.

2014-2015 Recipient: Luke Dorfman

Marion Berry Allbee Award for Excellence in Composition:

Several awards for outstanding non-fiction writing are given through a fund established by Dr. Roger Allbee, UVM College of Medicine, in memory of his wife, UVM Class of 1931.

2014-2015 Recipients of the Marion Berry Allbee Award for Excellence in Composition are:

English 001: Allie E. Parkin for "A Butterfly Identity"

English 005: Margaret M. May for "The Seed of Monstrosity"

English 086 and English 100 Level: Wesley S. Dunn for "The Audience of the Merchant: The Wife of Bath"

Senior English Major: Jessica S. Dudley for "Taking Inventory" and Kerry W. Martin for "The Romantic Other in Three Poets: Revolutionary Fuel or Imperial Poiesis?"

Graduate Student: Jessica L. Fallis for "The 'Surrealism of Everyday Life': Elizabeth Bishop's Visual Aesthetic in 'The End of March'"

Douglas A. Pinta Award:

The Pinta Award is presented to a student recognized for excellence in writing.

2014-2015 Recipient: Alyssandra C. Tobin

Dugan Foley Memorial Award:

The Dugan Foley Memorial Award was established in 1995 in remembrance of Dugan Foley, and goes to a junior who is minoring in film studies.

2014-2015 Recipient: Zackary M. Adams

Willard B. Pope Award:

In honor of Dr. Willard Pope, Professor Emeritus of English, this award is given to a junior or senior who excels in the study of Romanticism or Shakespeare.

2014-2015 Recipient: Alexandria Hall, for her essay, "Keats's Entanglement of Drives and Negative Capability: Dissolving into Love and Death"

Benjamin B. Wainwright Prize:

Professor Wainwright taught at UVM from 1925 to 1963. This prize is given to the student who submits the best poem each year.

2014-2015 Recipient: Alexandria Hall, for her poem, "The Lake House"


Last modified May 26 2015 02:31 PM