University of Vermont

Club Coaches

Club Coaches

UVM Club sports Coaches page

Club Sports Coaches

About our coaches

While our Club Sports are all student run organizations, oftentimes they employ a coach whose expertise in skill development, strategy, and guidance are valuable assets to the club's success on the smallest and largest stages. Our coaches come from all walks of life but all have great backgrounds in sports and are dedicated to helping are athletes succeed and grow in their athletic and academic pursuits. All of our coaches meet the certifications of the sports national governing bodies as well as meeting other requirements set forth by the University. All coaches are also committed to the safety and well being of our students and hold this as their utmost priority.

Are coaches paid?

Many of our club coaches are compensated for their efforts but as club's operate on a limited budget the compensation is not substantial and none of our coaches are full time. As club budgets are meager compared to Varsity counterparts many coaches volunteer their time and services for less than market value

What is the philosophy of coaching at UVM

While coaches inevitably have different styles, all coaches follow the student development model emphasized by the University. This means that coaches facilitate the growth of our students and do not entirely "run the show". Students hold important leadership roles within the organization and learn the administrative pieces and assist with key decisions guiding the organization. In this way coaches help students prepare for the real world they will encounter after UVM

How do I get involved in coaching at UVM

If you have a passion for a sport and are interested in coaching at the collegiate level you are strongly encouraged to look into coaching Club sports at UVM. By contacting the club or the Club Sports Coordinator (llifschu@uvm.edu) you can learn more about the club, if they have any openings, and your experience is commensurate with the level.  It is expected that prospective coaches have prior experience and are excited about working in a partnership with student leaders.

List of Club Coaches

Below is a list of our head coaches for each sport.  If you do not see your sport listed then there is no coach and you should direct all inquiries to the student leaders listed on the Directory page.

Baseball John Luter John.Luter@uvm.edu
Baseball Jim Carter jtcarter@uvm.edu
BJJ Vince Guy vteguy25@gmail.com
Cheer Steve McGuire st.r.mcguire@gmail.com
Cheer (2) Brittany Picard bpicard@ccsuvt.org
Crew Doug Connelly dsconnel@uvm.edu
Crew Ian Anderson iaanders@uvm.edu
Cycling TBD  
Dance Team Lynn Bessette lgbesset@uvm.edu
Dressage Bonnie Timmerman swass@mindspring.com 
Equestrian Madeline Austin Erdman imajica@imajica.net
Fencing Daniel Crocket vtepee@hotmail.com
Fencing (A) Birk Rivait brivait@gmail.com
Figure Skating Martha Harding mhardingvt@gmail.com
Football Jeff Porter jsporter@fastmail.fm
Football Darren Haynes haynesmagic@gmail.com
Freeski Noah Labow nlabow@uvm.edu
Gymnastics Bob Abbott bobsummit5045@hotmail.com
Men's Basketball TBD  
Men's Hockey Dan Sherburne sherbiesr1@yahoo.com
Men's Hockey (A) Matt Hopper hopper.matthew@gmail.com
Men's Lacrosse TBD  
Men's Rugby Declan Connolly Declan. Connolly@uvm.edu
Men's Rugby Charlie Bates cbates@gmavt,net
Men's Rugby Joey Besl Joseph.Besl@gmail.com
Men's Soccer TBD  
Men's Ultimate Jacob Saunders jesaunde12@gmail.com
Olympic Lifting Chris Polakowski cpolakowski@etsd.org
Sailing Caroline Patten caroline.patten@ymail.com
SASS Bill Pedrick Pedrick@vermontdancesport.com
SASS Caroline Pedrick dschneider@comcast.net
SASS David Schneider schneider.Paula@comcast.net
SASS Paula Schneider williampedrick@gmail.com
Shooting Sports TBD  
Snowboard TBD  
Swim Jen Turmel ccvfc29@gmail.com
Swim (A) Justin Bouffard jbouffa2@gmail.com
Tennis TBD  
TKD Ernest hart ehart@uvm.edu
TKD (A) Jaime Schulte Jaime.M.Schulte@gmail.com
Women's Basketball TBD  
Women's Hockey Bob Lehouiller BobLehouiller97@comcast.net
Women's Lacrosse TBD  
Women's Rugby Douglas Shimel douglas.shimel@yahoo.com
W Soccer Les Johnson coachj@newhorizonssoccer.com
Women's Ultimate Daron Byerly dbyerly@uvm.edu
Woodsmen Team TBD  
Wrestling Jared Royer jaredkaneroyer@gmail.com

Last modified July 28 2016 11:56 AM

Contact UVM © 2016 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131