CDAE Internship

Internship/Service Learning
for
Academic Credit

Internship vs Service Learning

What is an Internship?
An internship is a structured and supervised professional learning experience related to a student's field of study, within an approved agency, for which a student earns academic credit. The agency can be a business, government agency, educational institution, social service agency, or other organization that accepts interns.
What is Service Learning?
Service learning is a structured and supervised professional experience whereby students learn and develop through active participation in thoughtfully organized service that is conducted in and meets the needs of the community, for which a students earns academic credit.
Students cannot participate in internships or service learning at any agency owned by immediate family and/or relatives and cannot, in any situation, be supervised by family members or relatives.

Who can do an internship for academic credit through CDAE?
Any student enrolled at the University of Vermont may receive credit for an internship/service learning experience. Students may enroll in CDAE 196 or 296 depending upon the intent the internship is fulfulling.

How many credits can I get?
Students may receive up to 15 semester hours of credit for CDAE 196 and/or CDAE 296. As a rule of thumb, an internship requires 45 hours of active participation for each semester hour of credit granted. Ultimately, however, it is the Internship Coordinator's subjective evaluation of the inherent rigor and responsibility associated with the proposed internship that determines how much credit can be received. Students desiring more than 3 semesters hours of credit for any internship must receive permission to do so from his/her major academic advisor. Permission must be in writing to the internship coordinator prior to performing the internship.

Warning
Students must be enrolled and registered for CDAE 196/296 the semester they are doing the internship. Students must have all the required paperwork and arrangements made prior to the beginning of the semester. Credit for experiences retroactively, is not an option.

Service Learning Opportunities:

Agency Name
Agency Address
Type of Experience
Contact Person/Phone
Vermont Children's Forum
7 Court St
Montpelier, VT 05601
Advocating for Children
Sheila Reed/802 229-6377
Women Helping Battered Women
294 N. Winooski Ave
Burlington, VT 05401
Non-profit Organization
Jennie Davis/802 658-3131x 1062
Jennie@WHBW.org
YMCA
266 College St
Burlington, VT 05401
General Operations
802 862-9622
Vermont Adaptive Ski & Sports(VASS)
Mt. Ellen, Sugarbush Ski Area
Waitsfield, VT 05673
Office Management, Gen. Operations
Magge Stone/802 583-4283
Howard Center for Human Services
Burlington, VT 05401
Assisting Clients in a Self Help Initiative
Joan Knight/865-6135
Ronald McDonald House Charities
16 South Winooski Ave
Burlington VT 05401
Non-Profit Charities
Pam Fenimore/802 862-4943
pgfenimore@comcast.net
Lake Champlain Waldorf School
59 Turtle Lane
Shelburne VT 05482
Assist with Marketing, PR, & Development
Lisa Espenshade/802 985-2827
United Way of Chittenden County
Burlington, VT
Non-profit organization
Barry Lampke
barry@unitedwaycc.org
Gtr Burlington Industrial Corporation
60 Main St
Burlington, VT
Community Industrial Planning
Seth Bowden/802 862-5726
seth@vermont.org
The Vermont Business Roundtable
Swift St
S. Burlington
Research Support
Lisa Ventriss/802 865-0410
lisa@vtroundtable.org
Big Heavy World
215 College St
Burlington, VT
Vt Music Archives
James Lockridge/802 865-1140
jim@bigheavyworld.net
Community and Economic Development Office(CEDO)
149 Church Street, City Hall
Burlington, VT 05401
City Development
JonAdams-Kolitz/802 865-7587
jadamskolitz@ci.burlington.vt.us
Vermont CARES
187 St Paul St
Burlington, VT 05401
Non-Profit Newsletter/Projects
Peter Jacobsen/802 863-2437
peter@vtcares.org
Smart Growth Vermont
110 Main St
Burlington, VT 05401
Sustainable Development
Serena Parnau/802 864-6310
serena@smartgrowthvermont.org
Burlington Parks&Recreation
Burlington, VT 05405
Nancy Bove/802 865-7552
nbove@ci.burlinton.vt.us
Campus Kitchen Project-UVM
UVM Student Life
Burlington, VT 05401
Lluvia Mulvaney-Stanak/802 656-2060
lmulvane@uvm.edu
Women's Rape Crisis Center
Burlington, VT 05405
Erin McDonnell
erin@stoprapevermont.org
Peace and Justice Center
60 Lake St.,
Burlington, VT05405
Community Service
Nancy Lynch/802 863-2345x1
nlynch@pjcvt.org
Vermont Workers Center
294 N.Winooski Ave.
Burlington, VT 05405
Community Service
Beka Mandell/802 861-4VWC
Bekah.Mandell@gmail.com

Internship Opportunities:

Company/Agency Name
Company/Agency Address
Type of Experience
Contact Person/Phone
Dynapower Company
85 Meadowland Dr
South Burlington, VT 05403
Administrative Assistance
Stefanie Moore/802 652-1335
smoore@dynapower.com
Make-A-Wish Vermont
100 Dorset Street, Suite 14
S.Burlington, VT 05403
Event Planning/Social Media
Shawna Wakeham-Smith/802-864-9393 Ext104
swakehamsmith@vermont.wish.org
Northwestern Mutual Financial Network
5 Carmichael St
Essex Junction, VT 05452
Investment/Insurance
Wendy Jestings/802 879-3339
wendy.jestings@nmfn.com
Gristmill Builders
5430 Waterbury Stowe Rd
Stowe,VT 05672
Residential Construction
802 882-8410
Brendan@gristmillbuilders.com
YMCA
266 College St
Burlington, VT 05401
General Operations
802 862 9622
Burlington City Arts
149 Church Street
Burlington,VT
Gallery Exhibits
Emily Lawrence/802 865-7165
elawrence@ci.burlington.vt.us
Merrill Lynch
60 Lake Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Investing/Brokerage
Danielle Gilbert-Richards/802 660-1000
FUSE Integrated Sports Marketing
431 Pine Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Planning Marketing Sports Events
Heather Hennessey/802 864 7123
The Dock Doctors
189 Juniper Dr
South Burlington, VT 05403
Sales/Marketing
Chris Girard/802 877-6756 ext 29
Vt Refugee Resettlement Prgrm
462 Hegeman Ave
Colchester, VT 05446
Resettling Refugees
Melissa Lang/MLang@uscrivt.org
Clear Channel Communications
444 Hegeman Ave
Colchester, VT 05446
Radio Production/Adv
802 654 9336
Shark Communications
209 Battery Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Marketing/Advertising/Design
Chelsea Erardi/802 658-5440
chelsea@sharkcomm.com
Donahue&Associates
131 Church St
Burlington, VT 05401
Commercial Real Estate
Meg McGovern/802 862-6880
meg@donahueassociatesvt.com
Pomerleau Real Estate
69 College Street, P.O. Box 6
Burlington, VT 05402
Commercial Real Estate Development
John Rao/802 863-8210
Vermont Stage Company
110 Main St
Burlington, VT 05401
Marketing
Molly Kurent 802 862-1497
molly@vtstage.org
Essex Resort & Spa
70 Essex Way
Essex Junction, VT 05452
Event Planning/Hospitality
Shana Ferer-Feld 802 876-8050
Shana@vtculinaryresort.com
Nectar's Club Metronome
188 Main St
Burlington, VT
Booking Entertainment
Alexander Budney/802 658-4771
abudney@liveatnectors.com
Synergy Strategies Group
82 Church St, Suit 300
Burlington, VT 05401
Business Development
Tom Buck/802 578-1534
tom@synergystrategiesgroup.com
Select Design
Burlington, VT 05401
Graphic Design&Media
Heather Weeks 864-9075
hweeks@selectdesign.com
Oleet & Company
186 College St, 4th Flr
Burlington, VT 05401
Investment Banking, Financial Markets
Jason Oleet/JOleet@oleet.com
US Sherpa International
180 Flynn Ave, Suite 1
S. Burlington VT 05403
Importer/Mrktng, PR,Social Media, Mrkt Research
Ongyel Sherpa/info@ussherpa.com
Skillet Design & Mrktng
One Main St, Union Station
Burlington VT 05401
Advertising,Mrktng,PR
Nicole Fenton/Nicole@skilletcreative.com
Kelliher Samets Volk
212 Battery St
Burlington VT 05401
Public Relations
Alexa Mucklow/862-8261
Vt Public Research Group
141 Main Street
Montepelier,VT 05602
Consumer Advocating
Alec Blossom/999-3350/alec@vpirg.org
Atty Gen-Consumer Assistance Prgm
146 University Place, Morrill Hall
Burlington, VT 05401
Receiving Consumer complaints
Crystal Grewe/cgrewe@atg.state.vt.us
Volunteers for Peace
7 Kilburn St, Suite 316
Burlington, VT 05401
Social Online Mrktg
Meg Brook/802 540-3060/meg@vfp.org
Northern Architects
207 King Street
Burlington, VT 05401
CADD, Architectural Drafting
Tom Obrien/802 658-1953
Alchemy & Science
209 Battery St
Burlington, VT 05401
Custom Brewery,Online Mrktg
Kathleen Barnes
info@alchemy&science.com
Okay!!Okay!!Marketing
Church Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Marketing
Luis Calderin/802 878-1375
lcalderin@okay-okay.com
New Breed Marketing
1 Main St, Champlain Mill, St 13
Winooski, VT 05404
Marketing
Sarah Richard/802 655-0800
srichard@newbreedmarketing.com
Human Resource Dept.-UVM
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT 05405
General HR Practices
Tara Messier/Tara.messier@uvm.edu
Learning Materials Workshop
274 North Winooski Ave
Burlington, VT 05401
Business Management/Marketing
Karen Hewitt/
info@learningmaterialsworkshop.com
Echo Lake Aquarium
1 College St, Burlington, VT
Marketing/Event Planning
Stephen Perkins 864-1848 Ext 118
sperkins@echovermont.org
Burlington Intnl Airport
1200 Airport Rd
S. Burlington, VT
Marketing
Ryan Betcher 802 309-4586
rbetcher@btv.aero
Prime Construction
4735 Williston Rd
Williston, VT 05495
Construction Practices/Design
Sam Gervais/802 865-9276
sam@primevt.com
Smith Barney
69 Swift St
S. Burlington,VT 05403
Financial Bus. Practices
Danielle Alling/802 658-2424
Vermont Lake Monsters
Winooski Woolen Mill
Winooski, VT 05404
General Business Practices
802 655-4200
Green Mtn Coffee Roasters
33 Coffee Ln
Waterbury, VT 05672
Media/Communications
Sandy Yusen/802 882-2263
sandy.yusen@gmcr.com
CCS Technologies
18 Blair Pk, Suite 308
Williston, VT 05495
Software Dev & Mktg
Mr. Walsh/802 872-1625
American Express
600 Blair Park Rd
Williston, VT 05495
Financial Advising
Richard Peck/802 872-2775
Media Group Inc
18 Blair Park Rd
Williston, VT 05495
Graphic Layout
David Wheel/802 879-5403
Sheraton Conference Ctr
870 Williston Rd
Burlington, VT 05401
Event Planning
Teresa Gray/802 865-6644
teresa.gray@sheraton.com
Well Wed/Vt Vows
18 Morse Drive
Essex, VT
Wedding Products & Magazine
Jana Devereaux/802 595-9221
Jana@wellwed.com
McSoley McCoy Company
118 Tilley Dr
S.Burlington, VT 05406
Financial Accounting&Taxes
Jamie Harnish/jharnish@cpavt.com
UBS-Financial Services
38 Eastwood Dr
South Burlington, VT 05403
Financial Services/Planning
Donald Tynion/802 878-1343
donald.tynion@ubs.com
Cumbancha
413 Carpenter Rd
Charlotte, VT 05445
Music Recording&Distribution
Drew Brinkerhoff/802 425-2118
drew@cumbancha.com
Extant Associates in Photography
187 South Winooski Ave
Burlington, VT 05401
Photography for Advertising
Rick Levinson/rick@extantvt.com
Brandthropology
266 Pine St
Burlington, VT 05401
Social Media for Business
Jonathan Wilson/802 862-2400
jonathan@brandthropolgy.com
Little Luna Blue
11 Falls Rd
Shelburne, VT
E-Commerce of Children's Clothing
Anna Louchheim/802 985-2229
anna@littlelunablue.com
Vermont Commercial Real Estate
186 College St.
Burlington, VT
Commercial Real Estate
Jed Dousevicz/802 864-2000 x14
jed@vtcommercial.com
Fletcher/CSI
237 Commerce St
Williston, VT
Competitive Intelligence
Chad Stinson/808 660-9636
cstinson@FletcherCSI.com
UVM Athletic Communication Dept
Patrick Gym
UVM Campus
Communicating to Media
Lisa Champagne/802 656-1818
lisa.champagne@uvm.edu
UVM Athletic Dept
Patrick Gym
UVM Campus
Marketing
Krista Balogh/802 656-1744
krista.balogh@uvm.edu
UVM Work Life Services-HR
466 S.Prospect Street
Burlington, VT05401
Human Resourse Services
Emina Burak/802 656-0607
Emina.Burak@uvm.edu
PMG Public Relations Firm
3 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05404
Public Relations
Nicole Ravlin/802/863-3992
Nicole@PeopleMakingGood.com
95 Triple X
118 Mallets Bay Ave.
Colchester, VT
Radio Business
Michelle O'Dell/ 802 655-9550
promotions@95triplex.com
Tag New Media
156 St. Paul St., Suite 201
Burlington, VT 05405
Multi Media Marketing
Robert O'Neil/802 657-4174
rob@tagnewmedia.com

Last Revision : October 7, 2014 by Charles W. Ferreira