CEMS Faculty Nationally Recognized for Excellence ­ Early Career Awards

As classes are taught, homework is assigned, and students rush from building to building to catch the next lecture, it's worth taking a moment to stop and reflect on the world-class stature achieved by the College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences (CEMS) professors who are giving those lectures. Many CEMS professors are top researchers who have been recognized for unique and groundbreaking contributions in their fields. CEMS is fortunate to boast several faculty members who are winners of early career awards -- highly competitive, prestigious national awards for research contributions made early in one's career.

Eric HernandezDr. Eric Hernandez is an Assistant Professor in the School of Engineering with a Ph.D. from Northeastern University. Dr. Hernandez received a 2015 National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Award titled, "Structural Health Monitoring, Diagnosis and Prognosis of Minimally Instrumented Structural Systems". This research will pioneer a novel framework to assess the safety of minimally instrumented structural systems of buildings and bridges. The ultimate goal of the research is to predict remaining useful life of instrumented structures with knowledge of the state of damage, of material degradation and incorporating uncertainties in the loading environment.

Paul HinesNSF CAREER award for research entitled, "Harnessing Smart Grid Data to Enable Resilient and Efficient Electricity".
NSF Page here.

Josh BongardDr. Joshua Bongard, Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at UVM and CEMS, was recently named by President Obama as one of 94 recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) for his outstanding work in the field of robotics. This award is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Dr. Bongard is the second researcher in UVM history to receive the award. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Zurich and also received two other distinguished awards: the 2009 National Science Foundation CAREER Award for research entitled, "Investigating the Ultimate Mechanisms of Embodied Cognition," and the 2007 New Faculty Fellowship Award from Microsoft Research.

"President Obama's recognition of UVM professor Joshua Bongard as an outstanding researcher is a much deserved honor for Josh. His contributions in the fields of robotics and machine learning represent innovative, technological advancements with potentially vast applications," said CEMS Interim Dean Bernard "Chip" Cole, who added, "Our UVM community of innovative and award-winning computer scientists, engineers and math- ematicians continues to gather momentum and acclaim as the research mission grows, and we seek to address important challenges on the local, national, and global levels."

Mary DunlopDr. Mary Dunlop is Assistant Professor in the School of Engineering with a Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology. Dr. Dunlop received the 2011 Department of Energy Early CAREER Award for research entitled, "Engineering Robust Hosts for Microbial Biofuel Production."

Peter Sheridan DoddsDr. Peter Sheridan Dodds is Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics with a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Dodds received the 2009 National Science Foundation CAREER Award for research entitled, "Explorations of Complex Social and Psychological Phenomena through Multiscale Online Sociological Experiments, Empirical Studies, and Theoretical Models."

Frederic SansozDr. Frederic Sansoz is Associate Professor in the School of Engineering with a Ph.D. from the Ecole des Mines de Paris. An expert in nanomaterials and nanomechanics, Dr. Sansoz recently received a 2008 National Science Foundation CAREER Award for his research entitled, "Microstructure and size effects on metal plasticity at limited length scale."

Christian SkalkaDr. Christian Skalka is Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science with a Ph.D. from John Hopkins University. Dr Skalka received the Air Force's Young Investigator Research Program (YIP) Award in 2008 for research entitled, "A language-based approach to wireless sensor network security."