University of Vermont

cems
College of
ENGINEERING AND MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES

Faculty Directory

Below you will find faculty listings for:

School of Engineering
Mads AlmassalkhiMads Almassalkhi, Assistant Professor
Email: malmassa@uvm.edu
Expertise:
power systems, optimization, model-predictive control, energy system modeling
Lisa Aultman-HallLisa Aultman-Hall, Professor
Email: laultman@uvm.edu
Expertise:
• Travel Behavior, especially second-by-second driving style, route choice and idling • Rural Travel Behavior, including accessibility, efficiency and EV adoption potential • Long Distance and Overnight Travel • Travel Survey Design • Bicycle Transportation • Traffic Safety • Spatial Analysis using GIS and GPS for Transportation
Appala Raju BadireddyAppala Raju Badireddy, Assistant Professor
Email: raju.badireddy@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Water Quality Engineering (physical, chemical, and biological processes), Membrane Separation Processes, Advanced Oxidation Processes, Multi-functional Nanoparticles, Anti-fouling and Disinfection, Bacteriophages, Biofilms, Contaminant Fate and Transport, Resource Recovery from Solid- and Liquid-Waste, Environmental Photochemistry, Enhanced Darkfield-Hyperspectral Imaging Microscopy, Nanoscience, Nanotoxicology, Nanotechnology- Environmental Implications and Applications
Arne BombliesArne Bomblies, Assistant Professor
Email: abomblie@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Hydrology
Michael ColemanMichael Coleman, Senior Lecturer
Email: mcoleman@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Rigid Body Dynamics; Biomechanics; Robotics; Mechanical Design;
Mandar DewoolkarMandar Dewoolkar, Associate Professor
Email: mdewoolk@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering.
Yves DubiefYves Dubief, Associate Professor
Email: ydubief@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Fluid mechanics, turbulence, incompressible and compressible flows, non-Newtonian flows, numerical simulation
Mary DunlopMary Dunlop, Assistant Professor
Email: mjdunlop@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Synthetic biology, systems biology, control theory, dynamical systems, nonlinear dynamics, biofuels.
Photo not available.Douglas Fletcher, Professor
Email: dfletche@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Laser diagnostics of compressible flows, reacting flows, and plasmas. Aerothermodynamics of planetary entry.
Jeff FrolikJeff Frolik, Associate Professor
Email: jfrolik@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Sensor Networks and Wireless Communications
Luis GarciaLuis Garcia, Professor
Email: lag@uvm.edu

Ehsan GhazanfariEhsan Ghazanfari, Assistant Professor
Email: Ehsan.Ghazanfari@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Geotechnical engineering; Geo-energy systems (e.g. enhanced oil/gas recovery, enhanced geothermal systems, carbon sequestration); Wireless Sensor Network application in health monitoring of subsurface geo-systems; Soil-structure interaction evaluation through advanced sensing methodologies
Kenneth GoldenKenneth Golden, Professor
Email: kgolden@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Plasma physics; kinetic theory; statistical mechanics; electrodynamics; thermodynamic and dynamic properties of Coulomb liquids; physics of fluids; shock waves; applied mathematics.
Eric HernandezEric Hernandez, Assistant Professor
Email: eric.hernandez@uvm.edu
Expertise:
structural dynamics, inverse problems, structural health monitoring, uncertainty quantification, reliability of engineering systems
Paul HinesPaul Hines, Assistant Professor
Email: paul.hines@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Electrical energy systems, decentralized (agent-based) control systems, complex networks and vulnerability, optimization, energy policy
Darren L. HittDarren L. Hitt, Professor
Email: darren.hitt@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Experimental and theoretical micro-fluid mechanics; spacecraft micropropulsion; multiphase and reacting flows; hydrodynamic stability.
Britt A. HolménBritt A. Holmén, Professor
Email: bholmen@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Environmental Engineering -- Particle Interface Chemistry, Airborne Particle Emissions & Processes, Herbicide Gas/Particle Partitioning, Lidar Remote Sensing, Transportation & Air Quality, Nonpoint Source Emissions
Dryver HustonDryver Huston, Professor
Email: dhuston@uvm.edu
Expertise:
smart structures, structural health monitoring, whole body vibration, spine mechanics, precision machines
Jenn KarsonJenn Karson, Lecturer
Email: jkarson@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Design + Technology Vermont Fab Lab
Brian H. Y. LeeBrian H. Y. Lee, Assistant Professor
Email: bhylee@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Transportation and Land Use Modeling Discrete Choice Analysis Non-motorized Transportation Planning Safety and Policy Evaluation
Patrick C. LeePatrick C. Lee, Assistant Professor
Email: patrickc.lee@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Smart and Lightweight Polymeric and Hybrid Materials, Polymer and Composites Processing, Additive Manufacturing, Nano-/Micro-manufacturing, Computation Fluid Dynamics
William LouisosWilliam Louisos, Lecturer
Email: William.Louisos@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Thermal fluid sciences, micro-fluid mechanics, compressible flow gas dynamics, supersonic micronozzles. Areas of Interest: Atmospheric flows, weather forecasting, astrophysics and black-hole thermodynamics, energy systems.
Huijie LuHuijie Lu, Assistant Professor
Email: huijie.lu@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Water and wastewater engineering, nutrient removal and recovery, bioenergy recovery, environmental microbiology, meta-omics
Jeffrey MarshallJeffrey Marshall, Professor
Email: Jeff.Marshall@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Vortex-structure interaction, vortex turbulence, two-phase turbulent flows, particle adhesion, biofluid flows, wind energy, algae biofuels, Lagrangian and multiscale computational methods, thin-film flows
Gagan MirchandaniGagan Mirchandani, Professor
Email: gmirchan@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Signal Processing, Image Processing, Wavelets
John NovotnyJohn Novotny, Lecturer

 

Rachael OldinskiRachael Oldinski, Assistant Professor
Email: oldinski@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Biomaterials, Polymer Chemistry, Tissue Engineering, Drug Delivery, Regenerative Medicine
Kurt OughstunKurt Oughstun, Professor
Email: Kurt.Oughstun@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Electromagnetic and optical field theory, ultrawideband dispersive pulse propagation, linear and nonlinear optics, applied mathematics.
George PinderGeorge Pinder, Professor
Email: gpinder@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology.
Douglas PorterDouglas Porter, Research Associate

 

Donna RizzoDonna Rizzo, Professor
Email: drizzo@uvm.edu

Michael RosenMichael Rosen, Research Associate Professor
Email: mrosen@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Engineering Design Biomedical Engineering
Victor RossiVictor Rossi, Lecturer
Email: vrossi@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Cad/Cam
Frederic SansozFrederic Sansoz, Associate Professor
Email: frederic.sansoz@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Computational and experimental materials science in the areas of nanomaterials, nanomechanics, and nanoscale thermoelectrics.
Ting TanTing Tan, Assistant Professor
Email: Ting.Tan@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Fracture of materials, energy infrastructure materials, experimental mechanics, art-structure conservation.
Stephen TitcombStephen Titcomb, Associate Professor
Email: stitcomb@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Solid State Electronics
Walter VarhueWalter Varhue, Professor
Email: wvarhue@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Plasma processing of thin film materials.
Priyantha WijesinghePriyantha Wijesinghe, Lecturer
Email: Priyantha.Wijesinghe@uvm.edu
Expertise:
structural health monitoring, fatigue monitoring and detection of steel highway bridges, linear and nonlinear finite element modeling / analysis and restoration and preservation of historic structures
Tian XiaTian Xia, Associate Professor
Email: txia@uvm.edu

 
Adjuncts
John Aitkin, Adjunct Professor
Charles Alajajian, Adjunct Instructor
Paul Beliveau, Adjunct Instructor (UVM)
Tony Bonaccio, Adjunct Instructor
Edward Buturla, Adjunct Professor (University of Vermont)
J. Tobey Clark, Adjunct Lecturer (University of Vermont)
William Clark, Adjunct Instructor (Harvard University)
Michael Cross, Adjunct Lecturer (University of Vermont)
Charles Mark, Adjunct Instructor
Douglas Merrill, Adjunct Lecturer
Chad Phillips, Adjunct Instructor
Mark Suozzo, Adjunct Lecturer
James Swift, Adjunct Professor
Michael Werner, Adjunct Lecturer
Erin Wood, Adjunct Lecturer (University of Central Florida, Orlando)
 
Post Doctoral Fellows
Dylan Burns, Post-Doctoral Fellow
Jason Meyers, Post-Doctoral Fellow
 
Emeriti
Dale Critchlow, Professor Emeritus (Carnegie Institute of Technology)
Richard N. Downer, Associate Professor Emeritus (Colorado State University)
Gerald Francis, Professor Emeritus (Cornell University)
Nancy Hayden, Associate Professor Emeritus (Michigan State University)
David R. Hemenway, Professor Emeritus (University of North Carolina)
Clarke Hermance, Professor Emeritus (Princeton University)
Mahendra Hundal, Professor Emeritus
Robert Jenkins, Professor Emeritus (University of Leeds)
Jeffrey Laible, Professor Emeritus (Cornell University)
James Olson, Associate Professor Emeritus
Joseph Oppenlander, Professor Emeritus
Branimir von Turkovich, Professor Emeritus
 
RETURN TO TOP
 
Computer Science

Josh BongardJosh Bongard, Associate Professor
Email:josh.bongard@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Evolutionary robotics, evolutionary computation, physical simulation

Elizabeth ChenElizabeth Chen, Assistant Professor
Email:liz.chen@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Biomedical and Health Informatics, Natural Language Processing, Knowledge Discovery, Electronic Health Records, Clinical Decision Support Systems

Chris DanforthChris Danforth, Associate Professor
Email:chris.danforth@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Methods, Numerical Weather Prediction, Complex Systems

Jeffrey DinitzJeffrey Dinitz, Professor
Email:jeff.dinitz@uvm.edu

Peter Sheridan DoddsPeter Sheridan Dodds, Professor
Email:peter.dodds@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Complex systems and networks, contagion, sociotechnical phenomena, happiness, stories.

Mary DunlopMary Dunlop, Assistant Professor
Email:mjdunlop@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Synthetic biology, systems biology, control theory, dynamical systems, nonlinear dynamics, biofuels.

Margaret (Maggie) EppsteinMargaret (Maggie) Eppstein, Chair / Associate Professor
Email:Maggie.Eppstein@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Complex systems modeling and analysis, including evolutionary and agent-based computing, artificial neural networks, complex networks, etc., with applications in a variety of biological, physical, technological, and social domains.

Robert EricksonRobert Erickson, Senior Lecturer
Email:Robert.Erickson@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Education in Computer Science, Online Learning, Web development. Cross country skiing, Fishing, Hiking, Hunting, Snow shoeing, Tracking and Nature Observation.

My Classes


Paul HinesPaul Hines, Assistant Professor
Email:paul.hines@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Electrical energy systems, decentralized (agent-based) control systems, complex networks and vulnerability, optimization, energy policy

Jackie HortonJackie Horton, Senior Lecturer
Email:Jackie.Horton@uvm.edu

Byung S. LeeByung S. Lee, Professor
Email:bslee@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Database. Data mining. Data stream. Query processing. Event processing.

Dawei LiDawei Li, Assistant Professor
Email:dawei.li@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Human genetics and genome research for disease gene identification

Alan LingAlan Ling, Associate Professor
Email:aling@uvm.edu
Expertise:
1) Combinatorial design theory including pairwise balanced designs, group divisible designs, triple systems. 2) Coding theory, sequence designs and connection to design theory. 3) Applications of design theory to computer science, engineering and science. 4) Statistical design of experiments.

Gagan MirchandaniGagan Mirchandani, Professor
Email:gmirchan@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Signal Processing, Image Processing, Wavelets

Kurt OughstunKurt Oughstun, Professor
Email:Kurt.Oughstun@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Electromagnetic and optical field theory, ultrawideband dispersive pulse propagation, linear and nonlinear optics, applied mathematics.

Alison PechenickAlison Pechenick, Senior Lecturer
Email:alison.pechenick@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Computational Science with MATLAB

George PinderGeorge Pinder, Professor
Email:gpinder@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology.

Michael RadermacherMichael Radermacher, Associate Professor
Email:mraderma@physiology.med.uvm.edu
Expertise:
Three-dimensional (3D) Reconstruction of Single Particles from Electron Micrographs

Donna RizzoDonna Rizzo, Professor
Email:drizzo@uvm.edu

Neil SarkarNeil Sarkar, Assistant Professor
Email:neil.sarkar@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Biomedical Informatics, Bio-ontologies, Data Mining, Natural Language Processing, Phylogenetics

Christian SkalkaChristian Skalka, Associate Professor
Email:ceskalka@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Programming languages, logic in computer science, wireless sensor networks.

Robert SnappRobert Snapp, Associate Professor
Email:rsnapp@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Statistical pattern recongnition, image analysis

Xindong WuXindong Wu, Professor
Email:xwu@uvm.edu
Expertise:
data mining, knowledge-based systems, Web information exploration.

Jun YuJun Yu, Professor
Email:jyu@uvm.edu

Asim ZiaAsim Zia, Assistant Professor

 
Expertise:
Computational Policy Analysis, Decision Analysis, Complex Systems (in particular Agent Based Modeling, System Dynamic Modeling, Bayesian Network Modeling)
 
Adjuncts
John Cohn, Adjunct Professor
Jason Moore, Adjunct Professor (University of Michigan)
 
Emeriti
Jeanne Douglas, Senior Lecturer Emeritus (University of Vermont)
RETURN TO TOP
 
Mathematics & Statistics

Dan ArchdeaconDan Archdeacon, Professor
Email:dan.archdeacon@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Graph theory, graph algorithms, combinatorics

Takamaru AshikagaTakamaru Ashikaga, Professor
Email:Takamaru.Ashikaga@uvm.edu

James BagrowJames Bagrow, Assistant Professor
Email:james.bagrow@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Complex Systems and Complex Networks

Daniel BentilDaniel Bentil, Associate Professor
Email:dbentil@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Applied Mathematics & Mathematical Biology

Photo not available.Karen Benway, Lecturer

 

Catherine BlissCatherine Bliss, Lecturer
Email:Catherine.Bliss@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Complex systems, complex networks, online learning and teaching

Janice BunnJanice Bunn, Research Assistant Professor
Email:janice.bunn@uvm.edu

James BurgmeierJames Burgmeier, Chair / Professor
Email:james.burgmeier@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Computer Assisted Education, Integral Equations, Numerical Methods

Jeffrey BuzasJeffrey Buzas, Professor
Email:jbuzas@uvm.edu

Peter CallasPeter Callas, Research Associate Professor
Email:peter.callas@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Epidemiology; medical biostatistics

Bernard ColeBernard Cole, Professor
Email:bernard.cole@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Cancer biostatistics, longitudinal data analysis, clinical trials, chemoprevention studies

Abigail CrockerAbigail Crocker, Research Assistant Professor
Email:abigail.crocker@uvm.edu
Expertise:
health services research, policy evaluation, applied statistics

Chris DanforthChris Danforth, Associate Professor
Email:chris.danforth@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Chaos, Mathematical Modeling, Computational Methods, Numerical Weather Prediction, Complex Systems

Douglas DickeyDouglas Dickey, Lecturer
Email:dgdickey@uvm.edu

Jeffrey DinitzJeffrey Dinitz, Professor
Email:jeff.dinitz@uvm.edu

Peter Sheridan DoddsPeter Sheridan Dodds, Professor
Email:peter.dodds@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Complex systems and networks, contagion, sociotechnical phenomena, happiness, stories.

David DummitDavid Dummit, Professor
Email:ddummit@uvm.edu
Expertise:
algebraic number theory, arithmetic algebraic geometry, computational number theory

Erika EdwardsErika Edwards, Research Assistant Professor

 

Richard FooteRichard Foote, Professor
Email:rfoote@uvm.edu
Expertise:
For further information and publications please click on my Personal Web Page link above.

Kenneth GoldenKenneth Golden, Professor
Email:kgolden@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Plasma physics; kinetic theory; statistical mechanics; electrodynamics; thermodynamic and dynamic properties of Coulomb liquids; physics of fluids; shock waves; applied mathematics.

Kenneth GrossKenneth Gross, Professor
Email:kgross@uvm.edu

Darren L. HittDarren L. Hitt, Professor
Email:darren.hitt@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Experimental and theoretical micro-fluid mechanics; spacecraft micropropulsion; multiphase and reacting flows; hydrodynamic stability.

Tony JulianelleTony Julianelle, Lecturer
Email:tjuliane@uvm.edu

Karla KarstensKarla Karstens, Senior Lecturer
Email:kkarsten@uvm.edu

Vincent KoehlerVincent Koehler, Senior Lecturer
Email:vkoehler@uvm.edu

Larry KostLarry Kost, Senior Lecturer
Email:lkost@uvm.edu

Joseph KudrleJoseph Kudrle, Senior Lecturer
Email:jkudrle@uvm.edu

Judy LairdJudy Laird, Lecturer

 

Photo not available.Robert Laird, Lecturer

 

Taras LakobaTaras Lakoba, Associate Professor
Email:tlakobat@uvm.edu

John LawlorJohn Lawlor, Senior Lecturer
Email:jlawlor@uvm.edu

Katherine MerrillKatherine Merrill, Lecturer
Email:kmerrill@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Statistics Education and Mathematics Education

Ruth MickeyRuth Mickey, Professor
Email:rmickey@uvm.edu

Susan OjalaSusan Ojala, Lecturer

 

Kurt OughstunKurt Oughstun, Professor
Email:Kurt.Oughstun@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Electromagnetic and optical field theory, ultrawideband dispersive pulse propagation, linear and nonlinear optics, applied mathematics.

George PinderGeorge Pinder, Professor
Email:gpinder@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Mathematic methods applied to groundwater hydrology.

Helen ReadHelen Read, Senior Lecturer
Email:helen.read@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Integrating computer technology into mathematics instruction.

Thomas RogersThomas Rogers, Senior Lecturer
Email:terogers@uvm.edu

Joan RosebushJoan Rosebush, Senior Lecturer
Email:jrosebus@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Preventing Mathematics Anxiety!

Jonathan SandsJonathan Sands, Professor
Email:jwsands@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Algebraic Number Theory

Richard SingleRichard Single, Associate Professor
Email:Richard.Single@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Richard Single conducts research in the area of statistical genetics which involves population genetic analyses, comparative genomics, methods for disease association studies, determining properties of measures of overall linkage disequilibrium (LD), and tests for LD and Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium at the individual haplotype/genotype level. An emphasis on the human Major Histocompatibility Complex (MHC) of chromosome 6 has led to the study of microsatellite and SNP markers that are predictive of classical HLA genes due to their influence on the immune response for bone marrow transplantation. He also works in the areas of program evaluation and medical biostatistics with faculty members in the College of Education and Social Services and College of Medicine.

Robert SnappRobert Snapp, Associate Professor
Email:rsnapp@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Statistical pattern recongnition, image analysis

Photo not available.Jeffery Solomon, Lecturer

 

Mun SonMun Son, Professor
Email:mson@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Regression Analysis, Time Series Analysis, Multistage Sampling

Greg WarringtonGreg Warrington, Associate Chair, Professor
Email:gswarrin@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Algebraic combinatorics

Sheila WeaverSheila Weaver, Senior Lecturer
Email:sweaver@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Statistics Education

J. Michael WilsonJ. Michael Wilson, Professor
Email:jmwilson@uvm.edu
Expertise:
Fourier analysis; Littlewood-Paley theory; weighted norm inequalities.

Jianke YangJianke Yang, Professor

 

Jun YuJun Yu, Professor
Email:jyu@uvm.edu
 
Adjuncts
Neil W. Aguiar, Adjunct Instructor (University of Vermont)
Mary Cox, Adjunct Lecturer (University of Vermont)
David Hosmer, Adjunct Lecturer
William Jefferys, Adjunct Professor
Susan McAuliffe, Adjunct Lecturer
 
Emeriti
Roger Cooke, Professor Emeritus
Larry Haugh, Professor Emeritus (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
William Lakin, Professor Emeritus (University of Chicago)
Brian MacPherson, Lecturer Emeritus (University of Vermont)
David Morency, Lecturer Emeritus
Holly Puterbaugh, Lecturer Emeritus (Wright State University)
Robert Wright, Professor Emeritus
 
RETURN TO TOP