University of Vermont

Center for Cultural Pluralism

Vermont EPSCoR Program Recognizes Evans’ Contributions

Judith Van Houten and John Evans
Left, Judith Van Houten, Ph.D., University Distinguished Professor and Vermont State EPSCoR director, presents John N. Evans, Ph.D., professor of molecular physiology and biophysics emeritus, with a plaque honoring his contributions. (Photo: Courtesy of the Vermont EPSCoR program)

John N. Evans, Ph.D., University of Vermont professor of molecular physiology and biophysics emeritus at the College of Medicine, was recently honored for his contributions to building research excellence at UVM and across Vermont.

Judith Van Houten, Ph.D., University Distinguished Professor and Vermont State director of the Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) program, presented Evans with a plaque commemorating the honor on June 9, 2014.

Evans also serves as president of the Vermont Technology Council, an organization that works to foster technology-enabled companies in Vermont by integrating the efforts of the private, public and academic sectors. A member of the UVM faculty since 1976, he has held numerous leadership positions, most recently as  interim vice president for research, and also including dean of the College of Medicine and special advisor to the president. Evans has broad experience in the areas of intellectual property, technology transfer, company start-ups, government and business relations, and economic development. Prior to serving in an administrative capacity, he had a distinguished career as a biomedical researcher with numerous publications and honors. Evans taught his last class to UVM medical students in October 2013 and transitioned to emeritus status in May 2014.

The Vermont EPSCoR program (EPSCoR) is designed to fulfill the National Science Foundation's (NSF) mandate to promote scientific progress nationwide. The EPSCoR program is directed at those jurisdictions that have historically received lesser amounts of NSF Research and Development (R&D) funding. Twenty-eight states, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the U. S. Virgin Islands and Guam are currently eligible to participate. Through this program, NSF establishes partnerships with government, higher education and industry that are designed to effect lasting improvements in a state's or region's research infrastructure, R&D capacity and hence, its national R&D competitiveness.