University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Art and Art History

2016 Junior and Senior Award winners and Internship grant winners

On behalf of The University of Vermont Studio Art Faculty,  we are pleased to announce and congratulate this year’s Senior and Junior Award winners and Internship Grant Award recipients. 

Our SENIOR Award Winners are:

The Jennifer Goldstein Awards goes to: Hanna Babiss

The Paul Aschenbach Award goes to: Sean Bayles

Honorable Mention goes to: Stephen Chevalier

Honorable Mention goes to: Kailey Rinder

The faculty would like to thank all participating seniors for their work and dedication. It was exciting to view all of the excellent work taking place in Williams Hall, and we're looking forward celebrating this work in the Senior Exhibition, culminating in a reception following the CAS Graduation ceremony. For now, please join us in congratulating our Senior award winners! 

Our JUNIOR Award Winners are:

The Hewitt Prize: Chloe F. Mills

The Ian Crawford Prize: Grayson Crounse

Black Horse Fine Art Materials Award: Sarah Ingraham

The Frank Owen Prize: Emmi Headrick 

The faculty would like to thank all participating juniors for their hard work and dedication. We look forward to seeing all of your work develop in the coming year, and to celebrating the work of Chloe, Grayson, Sarah, and Emmi with an exhibition in the Colburn Gallery at the start of the fall 2016 semester. For now, please join us in congratulating all of our Junior award winners! 




It was a pleasure reading about the opportunities many of our students are creating for themselves this coming summer. We're pleased to offer Internship Support Awards to: 

Stan Walden: for an internship at the Minneapolis Institute of Art

Kate Fain: for an Internship at the Brant Art Foundation Study Center in Greenwich, CT

Paige Hanley:  for an internship at the David Lewis Gallery in New York City

Amelia Garrison: for an Internship at the San Francisco Museum of Art (SFMOMA)

Please join us in congratulating our Internship Award Winners - good luck to all of you this summer!