University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Anthropology

Full-Time Faculty

Deborah Blom

Associate Professor & Chair

Bioarchaeology, Identity, Social Complexity, Childhood; Andean South America

Office Hours: Wednesday 2:00-4:00 or by appointment. Williams Hall Room 508

Email:deborah.blom@uvm.edu

John Crock

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Director, Consulting Archaeology Program

Archaeology; Northeast, Caribbean

Office Hours: by appointment Delehanty Hall, Trinity Campus

Email:john.crock@uvm.edu

Jennifer Dickinson

Associate Professor

Linguistic Anthropology, Anthropology of Work, Socioeconomic Transition, Advertising, Media; Eastern Europe, Ukraine, Transcarpathia

Office Hours: Monday 2:00-3:00 and Tuesday 2:00-3:00, or by appointment. Williams Hall, Room 514A

Email:jennifer.dickinson@uvm.edu

Benjamin Eastman

Assistant Professor

Sociocultural Anthropology, Political Anthropology, Socialism/Post-Socialism, Nationalism, Crisis, Ritual, Performance, Sports; Cuba, Latin America

Office Hours: Monday and Friday 12-1:30, or by appointment. Williams Hall, Room 501

Email:benjamin.eastman@uvm.edu

Robert Gordon

Professor

Cultural Anthropology, Social Change, Development, Politics, Law, Visual Anthropology; Africa, Papua New Guinea

Office Hours: On sabbatical. Williams Hall, Room 517

Email:robert.gordon@uvm.edu

Catherine Holly

Lecturer

Sociocultural Anthropology, Anthropology of Business and Applied Anthropology, Coffee Culture, Development, Biological and Forensic Anthropology

Office Hours:By appointment only. Williams Hall

Email:catherinmholly@gmail.com

Emily Manetta

Associate Professor

Linguistics (syntax), Sociolinguistics; South Asia

Office Hours: On sabbatical. Williams Hall, Room 514

Email:emily.manetta@uvm.edu

Teresa Mares

Assisant Professor

Cultural Anthropology, Applied Anthropology, Sustainable Food Systems, Food Security, Latino/a Immigration, Environmental and Food Justice Movements

Office Hours: Anth21 Tuesday and Thursday 2:30-3:45, Anth296 Tuesday and Thursday 10:00-11:15, or by appointment. Williams Hall, Room 501

Email:teresa.mares@uvm.edu

Jeanne Shea

Associate Professor

Sociocultural Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Health, Gender, Aging, Family, Elder Caregiving, Generational Differences, Social Change; China, North America

Office Hours: Wednesday, 4:30-5:00 and Friday 3:30-4:30, or by appointment. Williams Hall, Room 515

Email:jeanne.shea@uvm.edu

Jonah Steinberg

Assistant Professor

Cultural Anthropology, Transnational and Global Communities, Responses to Marginality and Social Crisis, Migration and Diaspora; Islam, South Asia, Indic diasporas including Romani Gypsies, Indian Ocean, Himalaya

Office Hours: On sabbatical. Williams Hall, Room 510

Email: jonah.steinberg@uvm.edu

Scott Van Keuren

Associate Professor and Acting Chair (Fall 2014)

Archaeology, American Southwest and Ancestral Pueblo Community Organization, Craft Production and Socio-Political Complexity, Pottery Style and Technology, Public Archaeology, Museology; North America

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday, 11:30-12:30, or by appointment. Williams Hall, Room 504

Email:svankeur@uvm.edu

Parker VanValkenburgh

Assistant Professor

Archaeology, Political Dimensions of Landscapes, Built Environments, Environmental Change, Forced Resettlement, Spanish Colonial Peru; Andean South America

Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 3:45-5:00, or by appointment. Williams Hall, Room 501

Email:Nathaniel.VanValkenburgh@uvm.edu

Luis Vivanco

Associate Professor

Cultural and Environmental Anthropology, Political Ecology, Knowledge and Science, Media, Mobility, Tourism; Latin America

Office Hours: On Sabbatical. Williams Hall, Room 512

Email: luis.vivanco@uvm.edu

Anthropologists in Other Departments

Vicki Brennan

Associate Professor of Religion

Cultural Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, Religion, Performance, Politics, Gender, Sound, Diaspora; Yoruba, Nigeria, Africa

Office: 481 Main Street, Rm 101

Email:vicki.brennan@uvm.edu

Todne Thomas Chipumuro

Assistant Professor of Religion

Sociocultural Anthropology, Religion, Kinship Studies, Sociality, Ethnicity; African Diaspora Studies, Caribbean Studies, US South

Office: 481 Main Street, Rm 202

Email:Todne.Chipumuro@uvm.edu

Charles Knight

Lecturer, Anthropology
Assistant Director, Consulting Archaeology Program

Archaeology of the Northeasern US and Mesoamerica

Email:cknight@uvm.edu

Ann M Kroll Lerner

Director, Office of Undergraduate Research

Archaeology, Cultural Identity, Mortuary Studies; Western Siberia, North America (midwest)

Email: ugrsrch@uvm.edu

Amy Trubek

Associate Professor, Department of Nutrition and Food Sciences

Culinary Anthropology, Taste of Place, Anthropology of the Senses; Western Europe, US

Email:Amy.Trubek@uvm.edu

Last modified March 03 2015 03:50 PM