University of Vermont

homepage banner tutors

UVM Writing Centers

UVM Writing Centers Homepage

Welcome to the UVM Writing Centers!

The UVM Writing Centers offer free writing support to undergraduate students through the Undergraduate Writing Center and graduate students through the Graduate Writing Center. The undergraduate tutors and graduate writing consultants do not correct papers for students or write comments on drafts. Instead, they engage writers in conversation and activities to help them move forward with writing.

The UVM Writing Centers can assist you with. . .

  • analyzing the expectations and options of a writing assignment or task
  • talking through drafts and ideas
  • approaches to getting and working with words on the page
  • approaches to anticipating and addressing audience expectations and needs
  • expressing your ideas effectively

There is no cost to meet with a undergraduate writing center tutor or a graduate writing center consultant during the academic year.


Summer Programming for the Undergraduate and Graduate Writing Centers

Although the Undergraduate and Graduate Writing Centers are now closed for the summer, a number of experienced tutors remain in the Burlington area and are available on a private basis for any graduate or undergraduate student seeking writing support. Please see the list below.

Summer Writing Tutors

Contact any of the tutors below for more information.

Tutor Phone Email
Kristin Bauer 802-734-1155 Kristin.Bauer@uvm.edu
Laura Felone lfelone@uvm.edu
Christopher Keim 267-885-8246 ckeim@uvm.edu
Caroline Keller 908-812-5163 cakeller@uvm.edu
Brenna Lewis-Slammon blewissl@uvm.edu
Nick Manderlink 203-947-0223 nmanderl@uvm.edu
Zoe McDonald 307-760-9147 zmcdonal@uvm.edu
Amanda Meltsner armeltsner@gmail.com
Rachael Nutt 860-466-9464 rachael.nutt144@gmail.com
Vanesa Perillo vperillo@uvm.edu
Rebecca Potter 802-380-9470 rebecca.alice.potter@gmail.com
Caroline Shea 814-321-8493 cfshea@uvm.edu
Adam Sullivan 862-812-4204 asullivan1924@gmail.com

Which Writing Center Can Best Support You?

Please enter the writing center web section below that best applies to you in order to see further information, make appointments, or contact us. The UVM Writing Centers include the Undergraduate Writing Center and the Graduate Writing Center. Below, you will find guidance on which of the UVM Writing Centers you should access.

If you are ...

  • a UVM student enrolled in an undergraduate degree program or course, as a matriculated or continuing education student, and are looking for feedback and support as you write papers for a class
  • or
  • a UVM faculty member who teaches or mentors undergraduate writers and would like to learn how the Undergraduate Writing Center can help your students

enter the:

If you are ...

  • a UVM student enrolled in a graduate program or course and are looking for feedback and support as you write or prepare presentations for your program, profession, or the public
  • or
  • a UVM faculty member who teaches or mentors graduate writers and would like to learn how the Graduate Writing Center can help your students

enter the:

write fearlessly

Last modified July 27 2016 10:48 AM

Contact UVM © 2016 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131