University of Vermont

Professional News: July 16, 2014

Awards and Honors

Marcia Bosek, associate professor of nursing, has been appointed to the American Nurses Association (ANA) Ethics and Human Rights Advisory Board. The appointment is considered one of the top professional roles for a nurse ethicist.

At the recent Family Enterprise Research Conference held in Portland, Ore., UVM Business School Professor Rocki-Lee DeWitt, was the third co-author of research that won a “Best Paper” award. DeWitt collaborated with two scholars and co-authors, Francesco Barbera and Isabell Stamm, and their paper entitled “The Untimely Death of a Founder: A Case Study of Intergenerational Innovation," answered the research question “Does the untimely passing of the business’ founder disrupt intergenerational innovation?” Read more on the School of Business Administration website.

Jenna Foran, a recent graduate student in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders; Tiffany Hutchins, assistant professor in CSD; Patty Prelock, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences, professor of Communication Sciences & Disorders, and professor of pediatrics in the College of Medicine; and Dianna Murray-Close, associate professor in psychology, won the 2014 Contemporary Issues in Communication Sciences and Disorders Editor's Award for their article "Examining the Benefit of Including a Sibling in Story-Based Interventions with a Child with Asperger Syndrome." The article was noted for its contribution as an innovative treatment approach, which could be applied to a variety of populations (in addition to Asperger Syndrome).

Timothy Tourville, research assistant professor of orthopaedics and rehabilitation, received the 2014 Doctoral Dissertation Award from the National Athletic Trainers’ Association Research and Education Foundation during its 65th Clinical Symposia & AT Expo held June 25 to 28 in Indianapolis, Ind. This national award acknowledges the most outstanding doctoral dissertation in the field of athletic training and is provided to recognize work that advances the athletic training profession through research and education. Read more.