University of Vermont

The President's Our Common Ground Staff Award

Recipients Named in Inaugural Year of the Award

The President’s Our Common Ground Staff Award recognizes University of Vermont staff members who exemplify the qualities of the University’s Our Common Ground, the statement of aspirations and shared values of our community.  This is the inaugural year of this award. I was pleased to receive 24 nominations. The nomination and support letters, written by members of the University of Vermont community, served as a clear testament to the outstanding contributions and deep commitment of our staff members. Also evident in the letters are the strong bonds of respect, admiration, affection, and gratitude that unite the members of our community and that make this campus a special and remarkable place for our staff, faculty, students, alumni, and friends. 

I am delighted to name the following staff members as the first recipients of the annual President's Our Common Ground Staff Award:

Patrick Brown, Director of Student Life, Division of Student Affairs

Jeff Bukowski, Staff Council Administrator, Staff Council

Rodman Cory, Constituent Relations Team Lead, Division of Human Resources, Diversity and Multicultural Affairs

Annie Cressey, Health Educator, Division of Student Affairs

Leslye Kornegay, Director of Custodial Services, Division of University Relations and Administration

William Valliere, Research Specialist Park Studies Laboratory, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources

I want to express my great pride in the accomplishments of the staff members who received and who were nominated for the Our Common Ground Award. It is a privilege to lead such a dedicated and passionate group of people. In addition, I want to thank each of the nominators and supporters for recognizing the achievements of their colleagues and friends, and I wish to encourage everyone on campus to nominate remarkable staff members in their units and departments next year.

Tom Sullivan,