University of Vermont

Kroepsch Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award Nomination Deadline April 19

Barry Heath, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics Barry Heath, M.D., was a Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award recipient in 2011. (Photo by Raj Chawla, UVM Medical Photography)

“A sincere ally that I could rely on.” “Truly gifted.” “He has high expectations and won't settle for anything but our best.” “In school or out, she is always there for us.”

Comments about UVM College of Medicine faculty who have won the Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award over the years paint a compelling picture of how these professors have made an impact on students.

Students, faculty, staff and alumni from the College of Medicine are invited submit candidates for the 2014 awards; the deadline for submission is April 19, 2013. Faculty with titles of professor, associate professor, assistant professor or lecturer (including senior lecturer and continuing education instructor) are eligible. Winners, who come from across the University, stand out for their teaching and advising skills. Some of the criteria for nomination include excellence in instruction; innovation in teaching methods; commitment to cultural diversity; and ability to motivate students. Each Kroepsch-Maurice recipient receives $1,000.

Recent College of Medicine faculty winners have demonstrated these qualities and more. In 2011, Barry Heath, M.D., professor of pediatrics, was lauded for his “teachable moments” in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, and his engaging style in the classroom.

Mario Trabulsy, M.D., associate professor of surgery, received the Kroepsch-Maurice Teaching Award in 2010. Students praised her approachable nature and the discussions she fostered as a Medical Student Leadership Group mentor for first year-students. As a Frymoyer Scholar, she developed a program of study and online module for emergency medicine that has since become a model.

Douglas Johnson, M.D., professor of microbiology and molecular genetics, and Steven Shackford, M.D., now professor of surgery emeritus, received the award in 2008 and 2005 respectively. Johnson was cited for his challenging curriculum, while Shackford’s style of questioning students – fondly named “Shack Rounds” – received praise. Other College of Medicine recipients from the past two decades include:

2001- Ellen Black, Ph.D., assistant professor of anatomy/neurobiology
1997- Jean Szilva, M.D., lecturer of anatomy and neurobiology (now assistant professor of anatomy and neurobiology emerita)
1993 - Gerald Silverstein, Ph.D., lecturer of microbiology & molecular genetics (now lecturer emeritus)

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award memorializes Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice. Robert H. Kroepsch served as registrar and dean of administration at UVM from 1946-56. His wife, Ruth, graduated from UVM in 1938 and her father, Walter Maurice, graduated from UVM in 1909. All four of them were teachers.

Link to the Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Information and Nomination Form.