University of Vermont

Xindong Wu Named AAAS Fellow

Xindong WuDr. Xindong Wu, professor of the Department of Computer Science in the UVM College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), to honor his “distinguished contributions to the field of data mining”.  AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publishes the Science magazine. Each year the AAAS Council elects members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.  The AAAS Fellows induction ceremony will be held Saturday, February 16, 2013 in Boston, Massachusetts at the Marriott Copley Place. “I am very honored to receive this national recognition,” said Wu, “there are many more senior researchers both at UVM and in the wider scientific community, and I am just lucky to get elected this year.”

“Our College and the university as a whole are truly proud to have Dr. Wu receive this prestigious honor,” says Interim Dean, Bernard “Chip” Cole. 

Dr. Wu was also elected to an IEEE Fellow in 2010 (Class of 2011) and recently received the 2012 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award for his “pioneering contributions to data mining and applications”. The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is a non-profit professional association dedicated to advancing technical innovation.  He was also the first at UVM to receive the Computing & Communication Foundation (CCF) medium-size collaborative grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for research entitled, “Integrating and Mining Bio-Data from Multiple Sources in Biological Networks.”

Dr. Wu’s research on rule generation for data mining in large, noisy data sources, and on innovative data mining applications in Web and video information processing, has been widely cited in the research community.  He is a well-recognized world leader in data mining, and has won both the ACM SIGKDD Service Award (2004) and the IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award (2006).   

Others from UVM also elected in the past as AAAS Fellows are:

Physics: Wesley L. Nyborg, University of Vermont, Burlington, USA
(Nyborg was also a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and passed away in 2011 at the age of 94)
Medicine and Biochemistry: Burton E. Sobel, University of Vermont, Colchester, USA
Biochemistry: Gary S. Stein, University of Vermont, Burlington, USA
Biology: Judith Van Houten, University of Vermont, Burlington, USA

Contact: Dr. Xindong Wu <>

For more information on AAAS visit: