University of Vermont

Over 20 Students Receive Awards at CNHS Honors Ceremony

CNHS Dean Patty Prelock with 2012 Award Winners
CNHS Dean Patty Prelock with 2012 Award Winners

The College of Nursing and Health Sciences celebrated the achievements of graduating students at an awards ceremony May 18 in Billings Hall. All four academic departments lauded graduates with awards for clinical, academic and community service work. Dean Patricia A. Prelock opened the ceremony. In her remarks she encouraged students to continue to be leaders in their chosen fields."You are endowed with talents, curiosity, and intellectual voracity that, I would argue, confer the responsibility to lead, to strive, to reach, and to break new ground," she said. "It is not too soon to contemplate how each of you will do this."

Award winners for each department are listed below:

Department of Medical Laboratory and Radiation Sciences

  • F.W. Van Buskirk Award for Nuclear Medicine Technology: Megan Townsend
  • F.W. Van Buskirk Award for Radiation Therapy: Catherine Fenner
  • Clinical Achievement in Nuclear Medicine Technology Award: Tiana Gariboldi
  • Clinical Achievement in Radiation Therapy Award: Catherine Fenner
  • Scholastic Achievement in Medical Laboratory Science Award: Ashley M. Jones

Department of Nursing

  • Department of Nursing “Spirit of Nursing Award”: Emily Nicholson
  • Clarissa Peters Allen Award: Lindsay Dougherty
  • Faye Crabbe Award: Elise Corriveau
  • Fletcher Allen Health Care Award for Excellence in Clinical Nursing Practice: Amber Casterlin
  • Fletcher Allen Health Care Award for Innovation in Nursing Practice: Sarah DeSilvey
  • Kappa Tau Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International Awards – National Honor Society of Nursing
    Baccalaureate Student Award: Emily Nicholson
    Graduate Student Award: Celeste Michaud
    Graduate Thesis Award: Terri Redmond
    Honors Thesis Award: Sarah Benner
  • Special Recognition Award: Samantha Lagace
  • Vermont Organization of Nurse Leaders Award: Molly Clark
  • Vermont State Nurses' Association Clinical Excellence Award
    Bachelor’s program award: Courtney Farrell
    Master’s program award: Callan Janowiec
  • Visiting Nurse Association Ann K. Twitchell Community Health Services Award: Sarah Benner
  • Roxanne Dalrymple McBean Award: Emily Nicholson & Jenna LeMieux

Department of Rehabilitation and Movement Science

  • Exceptional Senior in Athletic Training Award: Jessica Wood
  • Leadership in Athletic Training Award: Sarah Quinttus
  • Professional Growth in Athletic Training Award: Molly Taylor
  • Future Professional in Athletic Training Award: Nathaniel Foot
  • Outstanding Student Achievement in Exercise and Movement Science Award: Kelley Groll
  • Isola Braun Award: Kristine (Kris) Joppe-Mercure
  • Margaret B. Corbin Award: Parminder (Parm) Padgett

Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Eleanor M. Luse Graduate Student Award in Communication Sciences and Disorders: Katherine Ekstrom & John Halliwell
  • B.A. in Communication Sciences & Disorders students received the following awards:
    Margaret Kyte Memorial Award: Alyssa Cornell
    Rodney Everhart Award: Jordan Schweizer
    Department of CSD Award: Katherine Allen

College Recognition

  • Class of 2012 Banner Bearer: Zoe Norcross