University of Vermont

Mirchandani to Receive 2011 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award

Gagan MirchandaniDr. Gagan Mirchandani, professor of electrical engineering in the School of Engineering (SoE) in UVM’s College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, is one of four UVM faculty to receive the 2011 UVM Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award.  Other faculty recipients are: Dr. Kathleen Liang, associate professor of Community Development and Applied Economics, Dr. Sayamwong Hammack, assistant professor of psychology, and Cuong Mai, a lecturer in the Department of Religion.  Each will receive $1000 at a UVM ceremony to be held in the fall of 2011.

"I am thrilled, honored and deeply grateful to the students in my classes in this regard," says Dr. Mirchandani.

“It is inspiring to have another CEMS faculty member garnering this notable recognition,” says Bernard “Chip” Cole, Interim Dean of the UVM College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences.  “Since 1990, nine CEMS faculty have received this prestigious award!”

Other CEMS faculty recipients are:  

Robert Erickson, Senior Lecturer, Computer Science, 2007
Mandar Dewoolkar, Assistant Professor, Civil Engineering, 2007
Sheila Weaver, Lecturer, Mathematics and Statistics, 2002
Larry Kost, Lecturer, Mathematics and Statistics, 2000
David Dummit, Professor, Mathematics and Statistics, 1999
Karla Karstens, Lecturer, Mathematics and Statistics, 1999
Joan Rosebush, Continuing Education, Mathematics and Statistics, 1999
Richard Foote, Associate Professor, Mathematics and Statistics, 1990

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards memorialize Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice, all of whom were teachers. The Awards recognize faculty for excellence in instruction, capacity to animate and engage students, innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development, demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity, ability to motivate and challenge students, and evidence of excellent advising.

For more on these awards visit:

For more information on the 2011 Awards Ceremony, contact: Nina Wu 656-1156