University of Vermont

UVM College of Medicine Announces 2011 Medical Alumni Association Award Honorees

The University of Vermont College of Medicine has announced the winners of the 2011 Medical Alumni Association Awards to be presented during its annual reunion weekend Friday, June 10, 2011, on the UVM College of Medicine campus in the Davis Auditorium.

Marga S. Sproul, M.D.’76, emerita associate professor of family medicine at UVM and family medicine physician at Colchester Family Practice, is the 2011 recipient of the A. Bradley Soule Award, established in 1983, which honors an alumnus/a whose loyalty and dedication to the College of Medicine most emulate those qualities found in its first recipient, A. Bradley Soule, M.D.'28. Since graduating from the UVM College of Medicine in 1976, Dr. Sproul’s service to the College and its students has spanned over 30 years and continues today. She is well known to a generation of alumni for her roles as associate dean for student affairs from 1988-2004, and as associate dean of admissions from 1987-1996.  In addition, she has served the College and medical alumni as a member of the Medical Alumni Executive Committee from 1986-2004, and a member of the Medical Awards Committee since 2000.

Alumni honored with this year's Distinguished Academic Achievement Award, established in 1985, which recognizes outstanding scientific or academic achievement, include:

Jocelyn D. Chertoff, M.D.’81, Vice Chair of Diagnostic Radiology & Professor of Radiology and Obstetrics/Gynecology, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center.

Dr. Chertoff is a radiologist in Lebanon, New Hampshire, whose academic interests include clinical education and career development of women in medicine.  Dr. Chertoff is assistant dean for clinical affairs at Dartmouth Medical School, and assistant medical director of Medical Staff Affairs and a past director of the Radiology Residency Program at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. She serves as chair-elect of the Group on Women in Medicine & Science of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

John R. Knight, M.D.’76, Director, Center for Adolescent Substance Abuse Research, Children’s Hospital Boston

Dr. Knight is a pediatrician in Boston, Massachusetts, whose research focuses on the prevention and treatment of adolescent substance abuse. In 1999, he founded the Center for Adolescent Substance Abuse Research (CeASAR) and its outpatient counterpart, the Adolescent Substance Abuse Program (ASAP) at Children’s Hospital Boston, and continues to serve as the director of each.  Dr. Knight is an associate professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School, where he has also served as an associate director for Medical Education in the Division of Addictions.

Helen Loeser, M.D.’76, Associate Dean for Curricular Affairs & Professor of Clinical Pediatrics, University of California-San Francisco School of Medicine.

Dr. Loeser is a pediatrician in San Francisco, California, where since 1998 she has served as associate dean for curricular affairs at the UCSF School of Medicine. In this role, she has been responsible for overseeing a major restructuring and redesign of the medical curriculum.  Dr. Loeser also serves as director of the school’s Clinical Skills Center, and is a member of the Executive Committee of the University of California Consortium for the Assessment of Clinical Competence.

The College's Service to Medicine and Community Award, established in 1984, is presented to graduates who have maintained a high standard of medical service and who have achieved an outstanding record of community service or assumed other significant responsibilities in addition to their medical practice. The 2011 recipients of this award are:

Bruce J. Leavitt, M.D.’81, Professor of Surgery, University of Vermont College of Medicine.

Dr. Leavitt is a surgeon in Burlington, Vermont, specializing in cardiac and thoracic surgery. An active international volunteer, Dr. Leavitt recently deployed his surgical skills on a Doctors Without Borders mission to Nigeria (November-December, 2010). Prior to that, he served with Doctors Without Borders at the Manik Farm Hospital in Sri Lanka (June-July 2009), and has volunteered on other medical aid missions to Panama (2004), Yaroslavl, Russia (1995), and Yinchan, China (1992).

Ann Lemire, M.D.’81, Medical Director, India Street Clinic, Division of Public Health of Portland, Maine

Dr. Lemire specializes in internal medicine, pediatrics, and HIV medicine. She is medical director of the India Street Clinic, an HIV/STD prevention and treatment service of the Portland Division of Public Health, and is former medical director of Portland’s Health Care for the Homeless and Homeless Youth Clinics. Since 2004 she has served as a board member of Konbit Sante Haitian Health Partnership, a Maine-based non-profit which develops the capacity of medical care in Northern Haiti. 

The Early Achievement Award, established in 2000, recognizes early-career physicians for outstanding academic achievements or contributions through community or medical service. The 2011 award recipient is:

Anne Marie Valente, M.D.’96, Cardiologist, Children’s Hospital Boston, Brigham & Women’s Hospital, and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

Dr. Valente is board certified in adult cardiovascular disease and pediatric cardiology and serves as the outpatient director of the Boston Adult Congenital Heart (BACH) and Pulmonary Hypertension Program and co-director of the BACH senior fellowship program. She is a staff member of the non-invasive imaging program at Children’s Hospital Boston and co-director of the Pregnancy and Cardiovascular Disease program at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. She is a staff member of the Children’s Hospital Boston Cardiology Department and Cardiology Divisions of the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Dr. Valente serves as an assistant professor at Harvard Medical School. Her research interests includes the use of imaging to determine mechanisms that contribute to ventricular dysfunction in adults with congenital heart disease and predictors of adverse outcomes in patients with repaired tetralogy of Fallot. She is a founding member of the Alliance for Adult Research in Congenital Cardiology (AARCC) group and serves as vice-chairperson of that organization. Dr. Valente also serves as a UVM Medical Class Agent.

For awards information, go to the Medical Alumni Association Awards website.