University of Vermont

President's Distinguished University Citizenship and Service Award

December 12, 2017

I am pleased to announce the call for nominations for the President’s Distinguished University Citizenship and Service Award, presented annually, to a member of the University of Vermont faculty who has established a consistent and over time outstanding record of service to the University community. Last year’s recipient was Dr. Beth Mintz, Professor Sociology. The award is designed to acknowledge exceptional service by an individual who is recognized as a true university citizen for contributions to institutional building at the University. The recipient will receive a prize of $2,500.

Faculty, staff and students may nominate faculty members for the President’s Distinguished University Citizenship and Service Award.  Faculty may also self nominate. A Committee of faculty members appointed by the Deans and the Faculty Senate will review nominations. The Committee recommends candidates for the award to me and I will make the final selection.  The attached file contains additional information about the award including the criteria and the nomination process.  Information is also available on the President’s Distinguished University Citizenship and Service Award website.

The deadline to submit nominations is January 29, 2018. Nomination material should be sent to Gary Derr, Vice President for Executive Operations at or 347A Waterman Building. The recipient will be announced later in the spring semester.

I hope that you will take advantage of this opportunity to recognize a member of our faculty for their outstanding contributions and service to the University of Vermont.

Previous Recipients:

Beth Mintz, Professor of Sociology and University Scholar - 2017
Nicholas Heintz, Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine - 2016
Stephanie Kaza, Professor Emerita of Environmental Studies and Director of the Environmental Program - 2015
Judith L. Van Houten, George H. Perkins Professor of Biology and University Distinguished Professor of Biology - 2014

Tom Sullivan, President

Last modified December 15 2017 08:15 AM