University of Vermont

Ceremonial Events - Convocation


Convocation 2006 was held on Wednesday, August 30, in Ira Allen Chapel

Image of convocation processionCampus and community were invited to celebrate the beginning of a new academic year by attending the 2006 Convocation of the University of Vermont. John M. Hughes, Provost and Senior Vice President gave the convocation address.

The ceremonial procession, led by University Marshal and President of the Faculty Senate Justin Joffe, included honored guests, trustees, senior officers of administration, deans of the University, faculty and emeriti faculty, and student members of the TOWERR Society, Boulder Society, and Mortar Board.


Carl H. Lisman, Chair of the Board of Trustees
Seth Bowden, President of the Student Government Association
Eileen J. Hanerfeld, President of the Staff Council


A. John Bramley, Professor of Animal Sciences, Acting President of the University of Vermont


Convocation Address

John M. Hughes, Professor of Geology, Provost and Senior Vice President

Closing Reflection

Trina Magi, Library Associate Professor

Photo Gallery (photos by Bill DiLillo, University Photography)

For more information contact Leslie Logan, Administrator of University Events, at (802) 656-1266 or by email to:

Last modified September 01 2007 07:56 AM

Contact UVM © 2018 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131