University of Vermont

UVM Police Services

Prevention Services: Alcohol, Your Body and the Law

ALCOHOL AND THE BODY

Health Risks:

  • Impairment of brain function, judgement, alertness, coordination and reflexes
  • Attitude and/or behavioral changes, such as uncharacteristic hostility, or increased risk taking, such as driving recklessly
  • Alcohol taken with other drugs can intensify the effects of the drug, alter the desired effect of the drug cause nausea, sweating, severe headaches and convulsions
  • Addiction or chemical dependency
  • Memory blackouts
  • Uncharacteristic family, school, work, legal problems
  • Health problems such as cirrhosis of the liver
  • Birth defects and mental retardation in user's children
For detailed information concerning the health risks associated with the abuse of alcohol and the use of illegal drugs, contact the UVM Center for Health and Wellbeing, 656-0236.

ALCOHOL AND THE LAW IN VERMONT

MINOR IN POSSESSION

The legal drinking age in Vermont is 21. If you are under 21, it is illegal for you to:
  1. have in your personal possession any alcoholic beverage
  2. knowingly or willingly misrepresent your age to obtain any alcoholic beverage from a licensed seller
  3. enter or attempt to enter any licensed premises or otherwise identified as prohibiting to minors
PENALTY: Fine up to $500 and/or up to 30 days in jail.

IDENTIFICATION

It is illegal to:

  1. loan your Vermont liquor ID to someone else
  2. attempt to use an ID belonging to someone else or attempt to use a falsified ID
  3. make a written statement of age that is false when applying for ID or in trying to enter a bar.
PENALTY: Fine of $192

FURNISHING TO A MINOR

It is illegal to furnish or make alcohol available to a minor in any fashion, including selling or collecting party donations. PENALTY: Fine of up to $1000 and /or up to two years in jail.

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI)

You may be found guilty of DUI if you drive a vehicle while you are demonstrably impaired by alcohol and/or another drug. PENALTY: First offence will be a fine up to $750 and/or up to two years in jail. Second convictions result in a mandatory jail term of 48 hours, a fine up to $1500 and/or up to two years in jail.

DESCRIPTION OF TREATMENT RESOURCES

Alcohol and Drug Services, an outreach program of the Center for Health and Wellbeing, offers individual consultations for students concerned about substance use and abuse. For further information, please contact the program at Nicholson House, 656-0236. Students may also obtain confidential drug and alcohol counseling services, including referral to community treatment, rehabilitation, or re-entry programs, by contacting The Counseling Center, 146 South Williams Street, 656-3340. Finally, students may obtain confidential medical treatment, counseling and referral from the Student Health Center, 656-3350.

Faculty and staff may obtain drug and alcohol counseling services, including referral to community treatment, rehabilitation, or re-entry programs, by contacting the Employee Assistance Program, 466 South Prospect Street, 656-2100.

Last modified July 30 2017 08:19 PM

Contact UVM © 2017 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131